Wii

North America

Metroid Prime Trilogy

by Nick DiMola - August 24, 2009, 4:05 am PDT
Total comments: 63

10

This triple helping of Samus Aran will please old fans and attract new ones as well.

Metroid Prime Trilogy, though not specified by name, is actually a part of the New Play Control! series. It exists exclusively to bring Wii controls to the first two titles in the series. However, this is in no way a bad thing. Players looking for the ultimate Metroid Prime experience needn't look further than Trilogy.

Despite dating back as far as 2002, every game in this series stands the test of time. The first-person adventure gameplay is tight, and the experience is fulfilling; little can be said about the these games that hasn't been said before. Metroid Prime offers the most even-handed experience. The difficulty is about right, the exploration is manageable, and the world Retro creates is beautiful and interesting. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes is easily the most challenging game in the series, since the exploration can become confusing and the difficulty overbearing. However, the game still offers the tried and true Prime gameplay, and with enough patience, it becomes increasingly enjoyable as the game progresses. Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is the fastest-paced entry in the Trilogy, giving players more linear progression with a far more reasonable difficulty curve than Echoes.

Overall, the series is quite varied, with each game providing a unique experience while advancing the overarching storyline. Even though you'll be playing through three games that look and feel somewhat similar, the differences are striking, evidence of the quality of the series and this compilation disc as a package.

Of course, the changes made to the control scheme, as well as the extras included on the disc, do modify the experience to a degree. The Wii's motion controls allow for free aiming, giving the player a feeling of empowerment and providing a much smoother experience as you move through the world. The only interesting side effect of adding these schemes to the first two games is the fact that the hit boxes (areas that are susceptible to damage) on enemies are often extremely small. This makes it necessary to use the targeting on certain bosses, as well as on the turrets scattered throughout each world. Thankfully the targeting system ensures that this minor issue never holds you up.

The new controls also make beam changing quite a bit tougher. By default, players must hold the "+" Button in order to bring up the beam changer screen, which is similar to the visor changing screen accessed by the "-" button in Prime 3: Corruption. This makes certain battles more difficult because you can't quickly switch beams. It wouldn't feel as awkward had Retro at least paused the action during the beam change, but as it stands it's a frustrating side effect of modifying the controls. The Wii controls also make it quite challenging to play for long periods, due to the inevitable hand-cramping caused by holding the Wii Remote for an extended period of time.

The game only provides a few token control options. Players can swap the function of the "+" and "-" buttons in order to access their beams and visors differently. They can also swap the function of A and B, which by default perform the shoot and jump commands, respectively.

Visually, the titles included in Trilogy look slicker than the originals thanks to 16:9 widescreen support, a few replaced textures and models, and an improved HUD (particularly the scan visor). Naturally, Metroid Prime is not going to look quite as pristine nowadays as it did back in 2002; however, it still looks better than the vast majority of Wii titles.

After the first boss battle in Metroid Prime, players will quickly realize that achievements have been added to the first two games to match those found in Corruption. The achievements provide tokens (specific to the game in which they are unlocked) that can be used to purchase things like concept art, music, and fun unlockables like the Fusion Suit in Prime (sorry, no NES Metroid!). Players are also still forced to trade friend vouchers in Metroid Prime 3 in order to unlock everything. Importing save data from the original games isn't allowed either, so players must complete all of the games in the Trilogy in order to unlock all of the secrets found in the menu.

Veteran mode is now available from the start for all games, and Hyper mode (previously unavailable in the first two games) is unlocked after completing Veteran. The multiplayer from Echoes is available from the main menu, and it plays identically to the original. Though the controls have potential to make the experience more interesting, the poor level design and plethora of health power-ups keep the mode from achieving greatness. Regardless, fans of the original multiplayer will most likely be happy with the control upgrade.

Metroid Prime Trilogy is a must-own compilation for fans of the series and newcomers alike. All three of the games are still immensely fun, and the various updates made to the first two games make them even more enjoyable. If you have yet to experience the Metroid Prime trilogy, do not hesitate in purchasing this game. It's easily one of the best offerings on Wii.

Score

Graphics Sound Control Gameplay Lastability Final
9 10 9.5 10 10 10
Graphics
9

While Prime 2 and 3 still look great, Prime 1 shows its age to an extent. Though it still looks better than a large number of Wii titles, the texturing isn't of the same resolution as it is in Prime 2 and 3. Additionally, the human character models in Prime 3 are so under par they feel out of place in the beautiful worlds they occupy.

Sound
10

The music found across the Trilogy is some of the best video game music ever created. It's dynamic, moody, and always fitting. The sound effects are also of the highest caliber, deepening the Prime experience that much more.

Control
9.5

While the controls are nearly perfect, the need to use the "+" Button in Prime 1 and 2 is frustrating and unintuitive. Regardless, the games are still far more enjoyable with their new control scheme. It's a more natural fit for their style of gameplay than the more rigid GameCube controls. Your wrist will get tired after extended play, however.

Gameplay
10

Trilogy is notable for the fact that it offers three similar yet unique gameplay experiences on a single disc. With this gamut-spanning lineup, it's easy to find something to enjoy, particularly when each game included is absolutely spectacular in its own right. No matter which game you choose to play, exploring the alien worlds is a blast, and the adventure/shooter style of play is fulfilling and enjoyable.

Lastability
10

With three full quests that will take nearly twenty hours each and a brand new difficulty selection for the first two games, there is plenty to keep players occupied. Metroid Prime 2's multiplayer mode has also been included to play with friends.

Final
10

Metroid Prime Trilogy offers one of the best triumvirates in gaming in a single package, along with an improved play experience and control scheme. A couple of minor control annoyances do exist, but they aren't enough to prevent this compilation from earning our highest honors.

Summary

Pros
  • 16:9 Widescreen and updated visuals
  • Additional difficulty setting in Prime 1 and 2
  • The Corruption control scheme applied to the first two games
  • Three excellent games together on one disc (in beautiful collector's packaging!)
Cons
  • Enemy hit boxes are too small in Prime 1 and 2
  • Wii Controls will cramp your hands over long play sessions
Review Page 2: Conclusion

Talkback

MaxiAugust 24, 2009

Good review Nick!
It explained everything that I wanted to know.


On a semi related note. I stumped Halbred. What do I get?

SteleAugust 24, 2009

Yeah figured NES Metroid was gone.  I kept MP1 just for that, but traded in MP2 and MP3 towards this purchase.  Can't wait to get my hands on it tomorrow.

Should there be an MPT/3 thread in the friend code forum?  ???

Since it uses Wii system friend codes, I don't see a need for a separate thread. We already have one for system codes.

MaxiAugust 24, 2009

Nick check your PMs.

PaleMike Gamin, Contributing EditorAugust 24, 2009

Quote:

The Wii controls also make it quite challenging to play for long periods, due to the inevitable hand-cramping caused by holding the Wii Remote for an extended period of time.

Does that sentence need an asterisk?

*And by long play session I mean 'insane weekend filled play-through of all three games'

=P

thatguyAugust 24, 2009

I didn't exactly see Pale anywhere in the area of the marathon...

...Odd

Anyways, for what it's worth, Nick played about half the time, through all of Prime 1, and by the end of the first day, which began at 6:00pm and ended somewhere around 3:00-4:00am the next morning, it seemed like his hand "already" was in pain.  It definitely wasn't meant to be played that many hours, and I was expecting to see one of those Wii Sports "Go outside, nimwit" screens that pops up when you play more than ten minutes.

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 24, 2009

LOL

MaxiAugust 24, 2009

I just Dugg the review.

CalibanAugust 24, 2009

I'm considering trading in MP3 Corruption for this trilogy game compilation. I'm keeping the GC games of course because of their original control scheme.

SteleAugust 24, 2009

Quote from: Jonnyboy117

Since it uses Wii system friend codes, I don't see a need for a separate thread. We already have one for system codes.

Ah, I guess I should go post in that thread then heh.

AVAugust 24, 2009

because of this review i am buying this game asap.

i intended to buy it eventually but know i know my money will be worth while.

JayBayBayAugust 24, 2009

Your experience with Echoes didn't have any effect on your review I see. I thought out of sheer anger at least a few decimal points would be deducted. I haven't seen rage like that since this guy couldn't beat Pokemon Snap:

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 24, 2009

In defense of Echoes, it holds up much better in a non-marathon situation. It requires a lot more patience and attention than we were giving it.

Yeah, Echoes is best played over the course of about a week.

JayBayBayAugust 24, 2009

Agreed, I just thought it was pretty funny.

HypotheliciouslyAugust 24, 2009

Can Prime 1 and 2 be played with the classic/gamecube controller?

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 24, 2009

No, sir.

HypotheliciouslyAugust 24, 2009

Damn....

Well I'll probably end up picking this up anyway even though I own each one already.

Good review by the way.

ZapAugust 24, 2009

Buyer beware: veteran mode is for veterans who have played these particular games many, many times and have lost an arm or leg fighting the Omega Pirate. Not 'veterans' of the Metroid series.

Good review, but maybe it would help soccer moms who have stumbled on the site to describe a little bit of what the gameplay is about? Just a thought

SteleAugust 24, 2009

Played through prime twice but 2 and 3 only once.  It's been a while either way, but veteran mode is tempting...  :-\

broodwarsAugust 24, 2009

Veteran mode sounds tempting to me only because I don't think I'm ever going to have enough time to give any these Prime games more than 1 playthrough with my growing backlog of PS2 RPGs.  Still, I'll probably just stick with the standard difficulty for the sake of actually enjoying the experience.

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 24, 2009

Honestly, Veteran wasn't bad. With the exception of the Omega Pirate, it was pretty easy.

GoldenPhoenixAugust 24, 2009

It is great to see Nintendo put out a collection that is truly enhanced. Rarely do the same games I played before make me want to play them again in a collection but with the new controls, upgraded visuals, achievements (worthwhile achievements), and cohesive package makes for something I really want to play again!

YankeeAugust 24, 2009

Nice review, this game really is a great deal. Japan really got shafted with the separate new play control versions. The fact that all three installments are unique within themselves makes it even better.
I am probably going normal on prime one and two and then veteran on prime 3 because that is the one i have played.

Quote from: Caliban

I'm keeping the GC games of course because of their original control scheme.

Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

AVAugust 24, 2009

Quote from: GoldenPhoenix

It is great to see Nintendo put out a collection that is truly enhanced. Rarely do the same games I played before make me want to play them again in a collection but with the new controls, upgraded visuals, achievements (worthwhile achievements), and cohesive package makes for something I really want to play again!

gamestop really helped too.

Free T-shirt and Free poster and Nintendo put a metal box and art.

makes me think nintendo might do this to other games. Zelda Twilight Princess :  Collectors Edition ( wii motion plus control, fixed up textures, harder difficulty mode, full orchestrated music . I would buy it

CalibanAugust 25, 2009

Quote from: Jonnyboy117

Quote from: Caliban

I'm keeping the GC games of course because of their original control scheme.

Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

Not really. At least I don't think so. Both versions have their positive, and negative notes. On the GC you can switch visors, and weapons without interruption. On the Wii it pauses the flow of the game to switch visors, or weapons. The aiming on the GC is not as intuitive, but it is for the Wii. Plus the Wii version has the added functionality of widescreen which I think fits right in with the Metroid Prime motif of exploration.

Mop it upAugust 25, 2009

When reviewed separately all three games got a 9.5 from NWR. I suppose the enhancements of these versions fixed the minor issues which caused the subtraction of the .5?

Quote from: Mop_it_up

When reviewed separately all three games got a 9.5 from NWR. I suppose the enhancements of these versions fixed the minor issues which caused the subtraction of the .5?

You do know that Nick didn't review those three games.
Reviews on NWR aren't site-wide opinions, it's the opinion of the reviewer.

thatguyAugust 25, 2009

...You are an "AP Style Jerk," Neal.  Sheesh.  Ruining everyone's fun.

ElixirAugust 25, 2009

Quote from: Mop_it_up

When reviewed separately all three games got a 9.5 from NWR. I suppose the enhancements of these versions fixed the minor issues which caused the subtraction of the .5?

Regardless of the fact there are different reviewers, I think three high-class games in one package deserves the 10 just based on what a great deal it is, especially to those who have not had a chance to play these gems.

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 25, 2009

Quote from: Mop_it_up

When reviewed separately all three games got a 9.5 from NWR. I suppose the enhancements of these versions fixed the minor issues which caused the subtraction of the .5?

Given that, I was actually considering giving the game a 28.5/10, but I figured that might be a little high so I settled on a mere 10/10. :P

But seriously, all three games are masterpieces, and the first two have been vastly improved by the new control scheme. Regardless of scores prior, I felt the package as a whole was deserving of a 10/10 due to having no flaws large enough to detract from the overall experience.

Quote from: thatguy

...You are an "AP Style Jerk," Neal.  Sheesh.  Ruining everyone's fun.

It's literally my job.

YankeeAugust 26, 2009

I picked mine up today, but was annoyed that Gamestop didn't have either preorder bonus and refused to give me anything in their place. At least the game is amazing, enjoying prime one thus far.

KDR_11kAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: Nick

Honestly, Veteran wasn't bad. With the exception of the Omega Pirate, it was pretty easy.

So they didn't add the PAL changes that make the Omega weak to powerbombs?

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: Nick

Quote from: Mop_it_up

When reviewed separately all three games got a 9.5 from NWR. I suppose the enhancements of these versions fixed the minor issues which caused the subtraction of the .5?

Given that, I was actually considering giving the game a 28.5/10, but I figured that might be a little high so I settled on a mere 10/10. :P

But seriously, all three games are masterpieces, and the first two have been vastly improved by the new control scheme. Regardless of scores prior, I felt the package as a whole was deserving of a 10/10 due to having no flaws large enough to detract from the overall experience.

I agree. It is hard though to rate a collection package or a remake of an older game, do you ding it for being older? I don't know, but it seems like Retro and Nintendo actually dedicated resources to these in regards to improving them so I think the score is perfectly justified considering they are amazing games to begin with (with Corruption being the best of course!)

Killer_Man_JaroTom Malina, Associate Editor (Europe)August 26, 2009

TYP's preview of the New Play Control versions (which are essentially the same as those included in this package) states that the achievement system is simpler in Prime and Echoes, as it only uses two of the four emblems. Is this true? I don't recall seeing any Red emblems, which were for scans in Corruption, during the marathon, but still...

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 26, 2009

That is correct KMJ. Prime and Prime 2 share a Grey Achievement for stuff like getting power-ups and keys. Prime 1 also has an Orange Achievement for beating bosses while Prime 2 has a Purple One. The Red, Blue, Yellow, and Green Acheivements are exclusive to 3.

The unlock menu is structured accordingly. All goods associated with 1 are unlocked with 1's tokens, 2 with 2's and 3 with 3's.

Spent some of last night playing Prime 1...almost at the planet boss. Would've spent more time, but the wife and I watched "Adventureland" (SAFE TO SKIP THIS ONE, FOLKS!) instead.

Love the game so far. I may have to tweak aiming speed, because it seems a little slow. I'm playing Prime on Veteran (just like Nick!). Was anyone else surprised by how difficult the Hive Mecha is with the new controls? I kept missing the weak point by .

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Quote:

watched "Adventureland" (SAFE TO SKIP THIS ONE, FOLKS!) instead.

Watch this one folks, it is a cute and funny movie.

I just started Prime 1 as well, and I agree with you on one thing, and disagree horribly on another.

Hive Mecha did seem harder, but Adventureland is a freaking great movie.

I've gotta disagree. It's not a comedy at all. Ryan Reynolds, generally the funnyman, is the most depressing character in the film. I'd classify this as a drama: everybody has issues, everyone deals with them badly. The only funny bits involve Kristin Wiig and that other dude from SNL. And that's like 2% of the movie.

NinGurl69 *hugglesAugust 26, 2009

Yeah it was disappointing when he couldn't talk and suddenly sprouted SWRODS from his arms.

KDR_11kAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: GoldenPhoenix

Quote:

watched "Adventureland" (SAFE TO SKIP THIS ONE, FOLKS!) instead.

Watch this one folks, it is a cute and funny money.

Freudian slip as you were thinking about all the moneyhats you get for praising crap on forums?

Quote from: Halbred

I've gotta disagree. It's not a comedy at all.

We weren't saying whether or not it was a comedy, just whether or not it was a good movie.
I guess it's the case of knowing what you're getting into, kind of like how I've seen a lot of people hate Funny People because they expected a straight balls-to-the-wall comedy.

I'll agree to disagree :)

Anyway, Metroid.

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: NWR_Neal

Quote from: Halbred

I've gotta disagree. It's not a comedy at all.

We weren't saying whether or not it was a comedy, just whether or not it was a good movie.
I guess it's the case of knowing what you're getting into, kind of like how I've seen a lot of people hate Funny People because they expected a straight balls-to-the-wall comedy.

I'll agree to disagree :)

Anyway, Metroid.

I thought it was funny but it wasn't over the top and it was a more down to earth movie that was plausible.

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

Sometimes I wonder if games like this should have two reviews, one aimed at those who never played the game(s) and one aimed at those who have. Though I agree with this review's score if it's someone who doesn't own the games, for someone who has all three I kind of feel like the score should be 3/10 or something.

Nick DiMolaNick DiMola, Staff AlumnusAugust 26, 2009

I own all 3...

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

But you were looking at the game objectively. Also, wasn't this a free review copy?

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: Mop_it_up

Sometimes I wonder if games like this should have two reviews, one aimed at those who never played the game(s) and one aimed at those who have. Though I agree with this review's score if it's someone who doesn't own the games, for someone who has all three I kind of feel like the score should be 3/10 or something.

Yeah but people who own it should be smart enough to pick out of the review what is new or not and whether that makes it worthwhile to them.

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

I guess that's true. It wouldn't be necessary but a split score would be nice.
This review does talk more about what the changes are than the games themselves though. Someone who has no idea what the games are about might need more.

Doesn't matter. Our plicy is to review each release as its own unit. The fact is there are three incredibly long and satisfying games on one disk. Doesn't matter if you own all three: the Trilogy is a 10 in and of itself.

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Quote from: Halbred

Doesn't matter. Our plicy is to review each release as its own unit. The fact is there are three incredibly long and satisfying games on one disk. Doesn't matter if you own all three: the Trilogy is a 10 in and of itself.

While Halbred is usually wrong, he is right on this. ;)

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

You might want to talk a little more about the gameplay then. :)

Quote from: Mop_it_up

You might want to talk a little more about the gameplay then. :)

He links to our site reviews of the Prime games on their own. Why retread what has already been written?

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

Ah I see. Taking a page from Nintendo and recycling old content, eh? ;)

GoldenPhoenixAugust 26, 2009

Nick should have written a 20 page review. No excuses.

Mop it upAugust 26, 2009

All I'm saying is, if the policy is to review each game as its own entity then I think it should contain both detailed information on what's changed as well as on the game(s) themselves. As was pointed out, Mr. Jack didn't write the reviews of the first three games so he might have a different perspective on them than the others, especially since he played them here again years after their original releases.

I was just offering up a suggestion, I didn't mean to step on anyone's toes.

KDR_11kAugust 27, 2009

Quote from: Mop_it_up

Sometimes I wonder if games like this should have two reviews, one aimed at those who never played the game(s) and one aimed at those who have. Though I agree with this review's score if it's someone who doesn't own the games, for someone who has all three I kind of feel like the score should be 3/10 or something.

If you already have the games and know you don't want to buy them again you don't need a review.

vuduAugust 27, 2009

Quote from: Halbred

Doesn't matter. Our plicy is to review each release as its own unit.

I would like to bring you attention to NWR's reviews for Mario Party 4, 5, & 6.

broodwarsAugust 28, 2009

Having just completed a playthrough of Prime 1 on the Trilogy disc, you might not have noticed but the review should note that there are some changes to this NA version due to it incorporating elements from the GameCube PAL version.  For instance, several lore/pirate scans have new titles and one was removed altogether; Fission Metroids now spawn in the Phazon Mines once you kill the Omega Pirate (an incredible annoyance); and apparently Ridley's jumping attack during his boss fight is new.  While the latter is fine by me, I don't appreciate the first two since as a former owner of the GCN version it just screws with my head (not to mention makes the Phazon Mines even more tedious than they already were to traverse).  The achievement system is also just kind of...there for Prime 1 (and presumably Prime 2).  Just by playing the game you get all the tokens you need to unlock everything related to those games, and you still need to do all the scanning and item collecting just to gain the ability to purchase unlockables so in the end it's pretty much the same thing you did in the original games.

KDR_11kAugust 28, 2009

Did you try powerbombing the Omega Pirate? I hear that wasn't possible in the NTSC version but I did it in the PAL version just fine.

broodwarsAugust 28, 2009

Quote from: KDR_11k

Did you try powerbombing the Omega Pirate? I hear that wasn't possible in the NTSC version but I did it in the PAL version just fine.

No, doing that never ocurred to me.

Share + Bookmark





Genre Adventure
Developer Retro Studios
Players1
Controllers

Worldwide Releases

na: Metroid Prime Trilogy
Release Aug 24, 2009
PublisherNintendo
RatingTeen
eu: Metroid Prime Trilogy
Release Sep 04, 2009
PublisherNintendo
Rating12+

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement