Wii

North America

Rayman Raving Rabbids

by Mike Sklens - December 30, 2006, 10:50 am PST
Total comments: 61

6.5

Bunnies hate having to unlock content.

Party games can be lots of fun. With enough controllers and friends, and maybe a little alcohol (of course, only if you're of age), they can be an absolute blast. However, imagine getting everything set up and ready to play, only to find that you can only play a paltry amount of mini-games, with the rest locked away and unplayable. That's the problem with Rayman: Raving Rabbids.

The game packs a ton of zany mini-games onto the disc, and most of them are a lot of fun, once you unlock them in the single-player mode. This mode is strung together on the thinnest of premises. Rayman's world has been invaded by a gang of crazy rabbit-like creatures called Rabbids. They've kidnapped our hero and thrown him into an arena, forcing him to compete in crazy events for their own entertainment.

If there's one thing that sticks out about Raving Rabbids, it's the Rabbids themselves. If you haven't already seen Ubi Soft's series of viral videos, be sure to check them out for a taste of how incredibly whacky this game truly is. The game delivers laughs in spades.

These mini-games will have you doing the weirdest things you could imagine, including: pulling worms from teeth, throwing cows like a shot-put, slamming urinal doors, and shooting Rabbids dressed as Superman with your plunger-gun, just to name a few. A few games repeat the same control mechanisms as other games. In the case of some games, like the whole series of rhythm-based games (each with its own song), it's fine, but in other games you might only be shaking the controller like mad. There's no need for more than one mini-game like this, as they all bring the same thing to the table.

For the most part, the games control fine, as they should considering how simple they are. Before playing a mini-game, a Mario Party-style explanation screen will explain what you will be doing, along with an animation of a Rabbid playing the game, which actually helps quite a lot in figuring out exactly how you'll be using the Wii remote and Nunchuck. For the multiplayer mode, some games have all the players playing the game simultaneously, while others require players to take turns. This is really nice considering that Wii owners with a single controller won't be left in the dark for multiplayer. However, It would be nice if there was an option to only display these games. Also, the interface for selecting mini-games is terribly confusing. Games are divided into multiple categories, and within each category they are displayed as a picture, so there is no quick and easy way to find a specific game.

Two specific types of games require a special mention. They are they shooting games and the dancing games. The dancing games are based on a simple rhythm-based mechanic, in which Rabbids move to the front of a stage on either the left or the right. When they hit the front of the stage, the player must shake either the nunchuck or Wii remote, depending on whether the Rabbid is on the left or right of the screen. These games start out very easy but eventually work their way up to a decent level of challenge. Plus, watching the Rabbids dance in the background is indeed hilarious. The shooting games are done in the style of those old light-gun arcade shooting games, such as Area 51, and include a lot of tongue-in-cheek references to that style of games. While easy, they're also a good deal of fun. The Wii remote's pointer is used to aim your cross-hair, and the B-button fires, while a quick shake of the nunchuck reloads. A grabber-chain can also be launched with the Z button on the nunchuck, and pressed again to throw out whatever has been grabbed (including Rabbids). Watching these shooting levels is often as fun as playing them, as you'll catch the Rabbids at their most hilarious.

Rayman: Raving Rabbids is a lot of fun with a group of friends, but only after you've put the time in to unlock all the mini-games, or if you have an SD card and access to the Internet to download a completed save file. The single-player game is little more than an excuse to force you to play all of the mini-games so you can unlock them for multiplayer and high score modes.

Score

Graphics Sound Control Gameplay Lastability Final
7 7 8 7 7 6.5
Graphics
7

The graphics are technically simple, but the art direction is great. The Rabbids look and act hilarious.

Sound
7

The music is simple and fun, and it fits with the style of the game.

Control
8

Most everything controls fine. In a few games, the controls feel a little off, but not terrible.

Gameplay
7

It's lots of fun as a party game, but the single-player falls flat. Even working through for high scores gets boring quickly.

Lastability
7

Again, it's a really fun party game, so expect it to stick around for awhile as long as you've got friends to play it with.

Final
6.5

It really cannot be stressed how much fun you won't have with this game if you don't play it with other people. Acting stupid and laughing at the absurd antics of the Rabbids is what this game is all about. Download a save file if you can.

Summary

Pros
  • Dancing games
  • Rail-shooter games
  • The Rabbids are hilarious
Cons
  • Having to unlock content
  • Some repetitive games
Review Page 2: Conclusion

Talkback

theratDecember 30, 2006

i found it to be a shoddy multiplayer game. theres only like 3 crappy games where u actually do stuff on the screen same time.

Karl Castaneda #2Karl Castaneda, Staff AlumnusDecember 30, 2006

I bought this game yesterday, and it's a 7/10 game if I've ever played one. Great fun with a group of people, but some mini-games are pretty frustrating.

ShyGuyDecember 30, 2006

Wow, a hater review from NWR. Whodathunkit?

Karl, you got a Wii??

MaryJaneDecember 30, 2006

you guys have been crapping on a lot of games that i'm loving. i'm losing a lot of interest in this site since it's change.

Maybe NWR is becoming too... hardcore?

LOLZ.

~Carmine "Cai" M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

couchmonkeyDecember 30, 2006

While I agree that the one-player game is a bit lacking, it seems like the game is getting knocked for that alone. I guess looking at the rest of the scores there are more complaints...but I don't know.

Anyway, strongly disagreed, nice enough review though.

WuTangTurtleDecember 30, 2006

Strongly agree on the fact that the single player blows and the multiplayer is pretty damn awesome. I don't quite understand the score though, it should have gotten atleast a 7/10. Out of all the categories it got 7's and one 8. I understand the overall doesn't have to be an average but come on.

I have to say though every time i got friends over this game has the longest playtime, and i got like 6 Wii games if u count WiiSports. On a few ocassions I've had to kick friends out at like 2am after playing the game for so long. I mean I love the game and all but I need some freakin sleep. Soccer, Red Light Green Light, Shake your Booty, Area 51 clone, and Bunnies have Natural Rythm are our favorites. Oh and in Multiplayer when choosing a mini game the game does atleast tell you ahead of time if the game is taken in turns or at the same time (Wiimotes on the right side screen blink if it is a turns game).

The thing about this game is that if you buy it and take it home to play with your friends, you can play 5 games. That's it. To play anymore you need to work through single player. That is a HUGE deal and is most of the reason that I gave it the score I did. Now, you can download a save file from the internet, but that is not something anybody should have to go through (and something that a lot of people can't do) just to have fun with their friends.

ShyGuyDecember 30, 2006

What, you never done the pass-the-controller-around-the-room-for-single-player thing? How do you think I played through Monkey Ball or Soul Calibur 2?

Karl Castaneda #2Karl Castaneda, Staff AlumnusDecember 30, 2006

That's how I played it, ShyGuy, and it works just fine. My problem with the game isn't that the single-player game is lacking. The fun mini-games would be fun if I was playing it alone (although they're considerably more fun in a group). My problem with the game is that some mini-games are, straight up, not that fun. The game where you slap doors shut gets old in about thirty seconds, and it took me forever to get through it. Similarly, the running game basically forces you to spazz the hell out - funny for the person watching you, but besides that, it feels like a chore.

Rayman: Raving Rabbids is a fun game alone or with friends when it's on the ball. When it isn't, the experience is severely lacking.

As for whether I got a Wii, I'll explain it all in the next episode of Radio Free Nintendo.

EDIT: Oh, and as for whether our reviews or opinions have changed since the site switch, that's total BS. It was a face lift and little else. If you're losing interest in the site, you would've lost interest with Planet GameCube.

ShyGuyDecember 30, 2006

oooooh, btw, did you get my podcast letter?

Karl Castaneda #2Karl Castaneda, Staff AlumnusDecember 30, 2006

Yes, sir. All of your questions will be answered, as per our promise.

theratDecember 30, 2006

oh please, the single player isnt huge. me and my gf beat it in two nights at 4 hours a peice. the ending is shet. and the games you open arent really coop. they are switch off.... i go, you go sota deal. the shooting games are fun but very simple, and thats about the only decent part of the game... elebits is better, but not by much IMO. Id rather non biases reviews like this coming from a nintendo site, its what makes me like the site. keep up the good work guys....think i maya go sell rayman for excite truck now. latttttaz

SvevanEvan Burchfield, Staff AlumnusDecember 30, 2006

Most important point here: the game isn't very good. At NWR, any score above a 5 means it is good in some way, and I can almost entirely agree with the score given by Mike. Keep this in mind, because many other sites treat 9s as the norm, 8s as "above average" and 7s as "not very good," which is dumb. It's a 1 to 10 scale, so anything below five is officially not recommended, but above five is recommended at least partially. This game has some quality stuff, but not enough to make it stellar.

The new site didn't change anything with regards to our scoring - in fact we made it clearer and more like our original intentions. Also, a great majority of the Wii games out there aren't very good. You're going to get lower scores from those who play all systems and all games because at NWR, we aren't just Nintendo fanboys - as I've said before, Nintendo fans have lower standards for FPS games, so Red Steel seems pretty good to a lot of people out there. Truth is Red Steel isn't very good - just because you haven't played an FPS in 8 months doesn't mean the next pile that comes by is the best FPS yet.

Same with Rayman. Who here wishes they had made a real Rayman platformer? Gosh this was a waste, but there's some fun stuff in it.

I think the 6.5 is justified by a "tilt" that isn't used in NWR's review system. Having to play the game co-op by passing the remote was not as fun as playing with others should have been.

I found out the hard way about the lack of multi-player out of the box. We had something like 5 games to chose from, and that's only because I had made my way through the first two "days" by myself.
I just think this was stupid for Ubisoft.

Bartman3010December 30, 2006

I really have buyers remorse from getting Raving Rabbids, Wario Ware is just going to push the game over to no end, even then. The mini games repeat too often, lack variation in terms of how they play. I would've much rather have had a platformer. I'm still waiting for the review of the GBA version.

Judging from the review text, I would have expected a higher score. Multi is what is important here, not single player. Especially with the downloadable save.

Score makes sense to me... just wanted to let you know that.

I don't hate the game, it's neato, but it IS a minigame collection that gets a few things right, a couple things wrong, and has a whole bunch of meaningless stuff in between.

~Carmine "Cai" M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

trip1eXDecember 30, 2006

I didn't find the game too interesting. For all the funny rabbit stuff the gameplay is fairly pedestrian. And yeah alot of games use the same mechanics. I think I counted at least 6 games that have shaking the nunchuk and pointing the remote.

GoldenPhoenixDecember 30, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: SvevanMost important point here: the game isn't very good. At NWR, any score above a 5 means it is good in some way, and I can almost entirely agree with the score given by Mike. Keep this in mind, because many other sites treat 9s as the norm, 8s as "above average" and 7s as "not very good," which is dumb. It's a 1 to 10 scale, so anything below five is officially not recommended, but above five is recommended at least partially. This game has some quality stuff, but not enough to make it stellar.

The new site didn't change anything with regards to our scoring - in fact we made it clearer and more like our original intentions. Also, a great majority of the Wii games out there aren't very good. You're going to get lower scores from those who play all systems and all games because at NWR, we aren't just Nintendo fanboys - as I've said before, Nintendo fans have lower standards for FPS games, so Red Steel seems pretty good to a lot of people out there. Truth is Red Steel isn't very good - just because you haven't played an FPS in 8 months doesn't mean the next pile that comes by is the best FPS yet.

Same with Rayman. Who here wishes they had made a real Rayman platformer? Gosh this was a waste, but there's some fun stuff in it.


Well in my opinion Red Steel's single player is better than Halo's! Personally I've found many of Wii's games to be good and I play all systems including the PC. Rayman is good for what it is, a game with lots of different mini games and not much else. Excite Truck is an exciting and somewhat unique racer that has sucked lots of hours out of my life. Then you have games like Madden, Elebits and Zelda which are good to great (Zelda being great). In regards to Nintendo fans not playing other FPSers, I've played about every decent FPS out there and I do agree Red Steel isn't that great but it still has its moments, which I can't say about other high profile FPS (Again I go back to Halo) especially console ones with terrible game pad controls. Then again it and every single FPS for a console pales in comparison to some of the PC's greatest like Half-Life 2, FEAR, Call of Duty 3, Prey and a myriad of others.

I really do not like generalizations about any kind of fan, I have no doubt that many here who like Red Steel have also played other FPS. Heck if I I want to take it a step further I might as well say that most console fans, PERIOD, don't know what a good FPS is and take any pile of crap that comes their way because they have yet to experience the PCs FPS genre.

MarioDecember 30, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: Svevan
Most important point here: the game isn't very good. At NWR, any score above a 5 means it is good in some way, and I can almost entirely agree with the score given by Mike. Keep this in mind, because many other sites treat 9s as the norm, 8s as "above average" and 7s as "not very good," which is dumb. It's a 1 to 10 scale, so anything below five is officially not recommended, but above five is recommended at least partially. This game has some quality stuff, but not enough to make it stellar.

The new site didn't change anything with regards to our scoring - in fact we made it clearer and more like our original intentions. Also, a great majority of the Wii games out there aren't very good. You're going to get lower scores from those who play all systems and all games because at NWR, we aren't just Nintendo fanboys - as I've said before, Nintendo fans have lower standards for FPS games, so Red Steel seems pretty good to a lot of people out there. Truth is Red Steel isn't very good - just because you haven't played an FPS in 8 months doesn't mean the next pile that comes by is the best FPS yet.

Same with Rayman. Who here wishes they had made a real Rayman platformer? Gosh this was a waste, but there's some fun stuff in it.

That's a massive load of shit and insulting your readers is a great way to lose them. I think you'll find most people here do play a lot of games on multiple consoles. Rayman 2 was amazing but after Rayman 3 I wasn't too keen on another platformer. It would have been generic and would have suffered from lack of inspiration from the team unlike this new concept.

The review is pretty good because it explains exactly why the reviewer marked it down a bit.

Infernal MonkeyDecember 30, 2006

Yeah, Rayman 3 was painfully boring after the sublime Rayman 2. I like Rayman Raving Rabbids, but UbiSoft should have just left Rayman out of the game completely. Rayman in this game would be like Shadow the Hedgehog making an appearance in a Mario game. Nobody cares.

Quote

Originally posted by: Infernal Monkey
Rayman in this game would be like Shadow the Hedgehog making an appearance in a Mario game. Nobody cares.



No, I'd care of Shadow was in a Mario game. I'd be quite angry.

matt ozDecember 30, 2006

I thought this game was great, but very very short-lived. If it was $20 it would be a must-buy for anyone, but at $50, I should've waited for it. It just isn't worth that much money to me.

For some reason, I can't get anyone to try the multiplayer with me. All anyone wants to do is forking bowling, and that's it. They may play tennis for 2 minutes, but everyone I show my games to just wants to bowl. So I haven't even tried the multiplayer on this game yet. Bunnies hate playing by themselves!

ShyGuyDecember 30, 2006

Quote

Nintendo fans have lower standards for FPS games


People from Oregon have horrible tastes in movies. Generalizations are fun, aren't they?

Quote

Judging from the review text, I would have expected a higher score


TYP hits it on the head there.

Imagine if you took home a Mario Party game and invited friends over to play, only to find that you have to unlock all the mini-games by first playing through single-player. I think this is a huge problem, as is the limited number of simultaneous multiplayer mini-games, and that's why I think Obi's review rings true. Clearly he admires the humor and the multiplayer appeal, but the unlocking hurdle and repetitive nature are real issues. And, as Evan mentioned, this is still a good score -- just not a fantastic one.

I think some of the backlash to our "harsh" reviews of launch games comes from the fact that some people are enjoying these games simply because they enjoy playing the Wii -- almost regardless of the game itself. It's an understandable side-effect of launch mania, and hey, if you're having fun with every single game, that's awesome. But we do have to look past hardware romance and judge these games on their own merits, and the truth is that many of the Wii launch games are mediocre but are made more amusing (to varying degrees) by the nature of the controls on Wii.

GoldenPhoenixDecember 30, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117

I think some of the backlash to our "harsh" reviews of launch games comes from the fact that some people are enjoying these games simply because they enjoy playing the Wii -- almost regardless of the game itself. It's an understandable side-effect of launch mania, and hey, if you're having fun with every single game, that's awesome. But we do have to look past hardware romance and judge these games on their own merits, and the truth is that many of the Wii launch games are mediocre but are made more amusing (to varying degrees) by the nature of the controls on Wii.


You know, every game out there is probaly mediocre but is made better by the controls. Yep that seals it, all games are mediocre junk without good controls. Really though if people are truly enjoying these games because of the controls, then shouldn't that be enough to justify a good score if people are getting the number 1 things that you should be getting out of a game, and that is fun. I dunno I've always been of the philosophy that review scores should reflect more heavily on the amount of "fun" a game has above all else.

Anyway I have little to disagree with this review, Rayman hasn't been one of my favorite Wii games mainly because I am not big on unlocking stuff especially since I despise and cannot get through a couple mini games. So with this particular review, I have little to no problem with the final score and why the reviewer did not like it.

In regards to Wii games in general I would give the following scores of games I've played:

Rayman-7.0
Zelda-10
Red Steel-7.5
Excite Truck-8.5
Elebits-8.0
Madden-8.0
Wii sports-7.5

Jome20December 30, 2006

I personally think this game received a score a little lower than it deserves. I myself bought this game at launch and have actually played it more than any of my other Wii game. I personally think this is the 2nd best launch game next to Zelda. Sure it's a bummer that you can't do multiplayer right away. But me and my roommates just took turns going through the single-player mode. And we had a lot of fun doing that. Play a game and pass the controller down. I don't see much of a difference in doing that through the single player, or playing multiplayer where you often have to do pretty much the same thing.

Also I will be very interested to see how you guys score Wario Ware. As MUCH of the multiplayer in Wario Ware (if not all) involves passing the remote around to other players. It's pretty much the same thing in Rayman and guess what it's still fun as hell.

I'm at least glad that you guys weren't ignorant in your review like another review I read. Which gave Rayman a significantly lower score because the single player wasn't a platformer. That just boggles my mind! That's like giving Mario Party a low score because it's not a Mario Platformer. Whoever was writing that review should have been fired! The single-player is short but it's damn fun. And I took this game the way it was meant to be taken. As a mini-game / party-game. I didn't expect to play the next Rayman 2 because I knew that's not what this game was about. And overall I've had a great time playing it over the past month or so.

Now I'm not saying Rayman should have scored a 9.0, but I do think a 6.5 is too low and that it most likely deserves a 7.5 - 8.0.

Jome20December 30, 2006

That's quite odd... My Firefox has been giving me problems lately. I hit reply and it didn't come up with the reply menu. I hit it again. Same thing, no reply box, just took me to the top of the page. I hit it a 3rd time and it says I've already posted twice even though I never hit submit. Weird ....... Oh well.....

KDR_11kDecember 31, 2006

I hate how some minigames require arm-killing amounts of movement to beat in SP. Take that toilet door game, after maybe 30 seconds you have to shake the nunchuk so violently to keep closing doors that you won't be able to play anything else involving the nunchuk for a while because your arm hurts like mad. And even then the doors won't close very often. Some of these games really need their sensitivity adjusted.

I think everyone in this forum thread needs a hug. I'm not the sort to give those out, though. Sorry.

CalibanDecember 31, 2006

I need a hug but it is definitely not from TYP.

KDR_11k, hmm that's interesting, I know of at least 2 mini-games that you for sure will do quick kinectics (milking, running), the dancing game can be quite active too but not as tiring as milking or running.
However the mini-game you mentioned was quite relaxing in the sense that there wasn't much physical activity, if anything I got annoyed that there were too many doors opening at one time and I just didn't have the right hand technique to win, eventually I did win.

Quote

Originally posted by: VGrevolution
Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117

I think some of the backlash to our "harsh" reviews of launch games comes from the fact that some people are enjoying these games simply because they enjoy playing the Wii -- almost regardless of the game itself. It's an understandable side-effect of launch mania, and hey, if you're having fun with every single game, that's awesome. But we do have to look past hardware romance and judge these games on their own merits, and the truth is that many of the Wii launch games are mediocre but are made more amusing (to varying degrees) by the nature of the controls on Wii.


You know, every game out there is probaly mediocre but is made better by the controls. Yep that seals it, all games are mediocre junk without good controls. Really though if people are truly enjoying these games because of the controls, then shouldn't that be enough to justify a good score if people are getting the number 1 things that you should be getting out of a game, and that is fun. I dunno I've always been of the philosophy that review scores should reflect more heavily on the amount of "fun" a game has above all else.


QFA.

~Carmine "Cai" M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

MarioDecember 31, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117


I think some of the backlash to our "harsh" reviews of launch games comes from the fact that some people are enjoying these games simply because they enjoy playing the Wii -- almost regardless of the game itself. It's an understandable side-effect of launch mania, and hey, if you're having fun with every single game, that's awesome. But we do have to look past hardware romance and judge these games on their own merits, and the truth is that many of the Wii launch games are mediocre but are made more amusing (to varying degrees) by the nature of the controls on Wii.

Yeah I know.. but it's almost as if... the games were designed to take advantage of the Wii controls?!

Quote

Originally posted by: Mario

Yeah I know.. but it's almost as if... the games were designed to take advantage of the Wii controls?!


Too bad not all of them were designed well. Later dancing where it will read the stoppage of motion as another move giving you an X, requiring you to exercise a great deal of restraint in your movements to prevent the minor twitch.
And yes, the bathroom game is messed up, sometimes doors just don't close.


Back to the multiplayer issue, it shouldn't say "multiplayer" on the box if it isn't out of the box.

Suggestion to Ubisoft:

Multiplayer*






*after you play single player

Smoke39December 31, 2006

Sheesh, guys. Reviews are for people to give their own, personal assessments of games, not for you to confirm your own opinions of them after you've already played them yourself. Seriously, y'all sound like those few clowns who were hating on NWR's FF3 review.

KDR_11kJanuary 01, 2007

I think games with lots of unlockables that are important for the gameplay should have a "demo mode" where your progress isn't saved but you can access the majority of the content without unlocking it. To access 100% you'd still have to play through normally but if, say, 70% of the content was available right away that'd be useful for plopping in that game you just bought and playing it with friends. It'd also be useful for demo kiosks.

Caliban: The more open a door is the more I need to shake the nunchuk to close it. I'm not sure how much the shaking strength and the door closing time are related but it does take a lot of shaking to close the doors later on. In fact it's taking me so long to close them at that point they open faster than I can close them and only luck allowed me to get beyond 50 secs in SP.

matt ozJanuary 01, 2007

If you buy a game, there should be an option to have EVERYTHING in the game unlockable from the start.

I can see an issue if someone spends $50 on a game, and can't even do what they want to without doing something else first.

ArbokJanuary 01, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: matt oz
If you buy a game, there should be an option to have EVERYTHING in the game unlockable from the start.


Yes, I mean what the hell? They expect me to play through a Zelda game to fight Ganon? I should be able to do that right out of the box!

Anyway, you will find people on both sides of this. I for one love unlockables. I like the sense of achievement and, let's face it, a lot of the time if I beat something I will expect a little incentive to be passed my way to add to the enjoyment. It's much in the same way that I dislike cheat codes: the temptation is there, and it just seems to cheapen one's own efforts.

If anyone is truly plagued by this type of stuff, though, there is always the alternative: Action Replay.

EDIT: And just to make it clear, I'm not talking about this game in particular. I have never played Raving Rabbids, and there is such a thing as going overboard with unlockable content which could be the case here. I was only talking about unlockables in general.

DasmosJanuary 01, 2007

What I don't understand is he game the game no lower than a 7 in each of the review criteria, but a 6.5 overall. I know the final score isn't an average, but that makes no sense.

oohhboyHong Hang Ho, Staff AlumnusJanuary 01, 2007

I brorrowed a copy of Wario Ware for GC a while ago. Before that I played the said game with a bunch of other people and it kicked ass. But when I got it home I wanted to play some multiplayer. I had to go and unlock everything. Alas it was just too boring to play through yourself.

ooohboy, don't you mean that you had to unlock Wario Ware's games for single-player? I think they are all available for multiplayer out of the box, since that game (the GC version) was specially designed for multiplayer.

I have nothing against unlocking content, and I don't think Obi does either, at least within reason. But when you have a multiplayer-focused game, which RRR clearly is, and you make players chug through the single-player just to open up the primary multiplayer mode, that is unreasonable.

Also, I have posted this link before, but it apparently bears repeating:

http://www.gamerankings.com/itemrankings/sitedetails.asp?siteid=724

Quote

Site's Avg Ratio For All: 70.7%
GR Avg Ratio for All titles this site has reviewed: 72.0%
Difference: -1.3%
Number of All Reviews Higher than the Average: 283
Number of All Reviews Lower than the Average: 284


Based only on our numerical scores, we statistically are only very slightly harsher than other websites on the games we review. Also, I would like to note that our average review score is about 7/10, not because we think that's an average score but because it simply averages out that way. Many of the worst shovelware games never get reviewed on our site, although we are slowly trying to broaden our coverage to get ALL games on Nintendo platforms, even the Barbie Horse Adventure junk. Just for thoroughness.

IceColdJanuary 01, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: Svevan
Most important point here: the game isn't very good. At NWR, any score above a 5 means it is good in some way, and I can almost entirely agree with the score given by Mike. Keep this in mind, because many other sites treat 9s as the norm, 8s as "above average" and 7s as "not very good," which is dumb. It's a 1 to 10 scale, so anything below five is officially not recommended, but above five is recommended at least partially.
As Jonny just pointed out, the average score of NWR is very similar to the other sites, so you can't use that argument..

KDR_11kJanuary 02, 2007

I think most people would like to see an average score mean an average buyable game, not the average between Zelda and Charlie's Angels.

NephilimJanuary 02, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
ooohboy, don't you mean that you had to unlock Wario Ware's games for single-player? I think they are all available for multiplayer out of the box, since that game (the GC version) was specially designed for multiplayer.


you need to unlock the modes, by playing one of each mode

5555
444
33
22
1

system was like that, play 1, then unlock 2, play all of 2 to unlock 3
wasnt that multiplayer friendly

Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
Many of the worst shovelware games never get reviewed on our site, although we are slowly trying to broaden our coverage to get ALL games on Nintendo platforms, even the Barbie Horse Adventure junk. Just for thoroughness.


Well, don't do us any favors.

~Carmine "Cai" M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

PlugabugzJanuary 02, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117

Many of the worst shovelware games never get reviewed on our site, although we are slowly trying to broaden our coverage to get ALL games on Nintendo platforms, even the Barbie Horse Adventure junk. Just for thoroughness.


The first review i ever read on here was for The Scorpion King - I often head straight to the bottom of the list just to read and laugh at them with mayonnaise. The review was so very entertaining, yet there hasn't been anything else of that real tangible ever so satifying quality since.

oohhboyHong Hang Ho, Staff AlumnusJanuary 02, 2007

Aah yes. I truely enjoy those reviews. Maybe it was because someone was brave/marchosadist enough to play through said game. Maybe it was the it's the reviewer's attemps to make something good out of something horrable.

Never the less, I will read, I will enjoy. Your pain was not in vain.

NinGurl69 *hugglesJanuary 02, 2007

Whoever's having problems with the toilet game is getting overly excited. You don't have to thrust forward with intense force or anything like that, just use well-defined wrist flicks forward (has a bit of rotation to it). Same applies to the music game, where it's best to immediately return to some neutral position before tapping again.

Zelda's shield thrust works BETTER with a wrist flick as well (to be specific, it's triggered by the amount of time spent accelerating the nunchuck, not how violently you move. I noticed it did a better job recognized how far i moved rather than how fast i moved).

Oh, and this thread is all kinds of broken. Funny thing, Rayman's use of the controller works better than any of Ubi's other games. Shows that Wii causes traditional hardtime longcore Nintendo fans to not agree on anything. Nintendo fans are extinct, and this site has no reason to live.

Non-gaming ftw.

ShyGuyJanuary 02, 2007

Quote

Nintendo fans are extinct, and this site has no reason to live.


QFT

BTW, why didn't Twilight Princess get a score of 11?? Haters!

KDR_11kJanuary 02, 2007

Whoever's having problems with the toilet game is getting overly excited. You don't have to thrust forward with intense force or anything like that, just use well-defined wrist flicks forward (has a bit of rotation to it).

Neither me nor my sister can get that to work once the doors are about half open. It's a simple flick when they're less than 25% open but after that it takes a long time of shaking before they react. Maybe there's a bug in the PAL version?

BloodworthDaniel Bloodworth, Staff AlumnusJanuary 02, 2007

No, I have the same issue with closing doors past a certain point. I think the hand has to be behind the door, but I really don't know what the deal is.

I tried doing the door thing... I don't think it's on the door, it detects the stuff on the bunny I think, and you just have to brave enough to do your wrist flick on the bunny instead of on the sliver of a door visible to you.

I will say this... you have WAY too many menus to navigate through just for some multiplayer minigame action, it obfuscates things way too much in that regard. Bad bad bad.

~Carmine "Cai" M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

KDR_11kJanuary 03, 2007

I do aim at the bunny (also tried aiming at the doors).

couchmonkeyJanuary 03, 2007

I think the game randomly causes you to fail at closing the door at times. It would be better if the door flew open again right away or something, but sometimes it seems that it reads the motion, but nothing happens. Could be wrong.

I think we'll see fewer "precise" uses of the nunchuck in the future. It's terrible in WiiSports boxing and it's so-so for the shield thrust in Zelda. It's fine for assigning one job that has no penalty for over-shaking. Then you can just shake like heck (Zelda spin-thrust or Rayman carrot juice game) and it doesn't matter that it's not very accurate.

IceColdJanuary 04, 2007

Yeah, the accelerometers only work well with quick movements like a melee hit, or a duck, or for a reload, or in BWii where you jerk it in the direction you want to jump.

vuduJanuary 04, 2007

I'm really torn between unlockables vs. everything available from the start. As much as I love unlockables can you imagine how much it would suck if you lost your SSBM save and had to unlock all the characters/stages again? (Not to mention all the flipping trophies!)

CericJanuary 04, 2007

I'm not reading this whole thing. But I think that the Single Player would have been fine if the story came through stronger and you would get a cutscene everyday of something relevant or funny. Progressing an actually story along.

BloodworthDaniel Bloodworth, Staff AlumnusJanuary 04, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: couchmonkey
I think the game randomly causes you to fail at closing the door at times. It would be better if the door flew open again right away or something, but sometimes it seems that it reads the motion, but nothing happens. Could be wrong.

I think we'll see fewer "precise" uses of the nunchuck in the future. It's terrible in WiiSports boxing and it's so-so for the shield thrust in Zelda. It's fine for assigning one job that has no penalty for over-shaking. Then you can just shake like heck (Zelda spin-thrust or Rayman carrot juice game) and it doesn't matter that it's not very accurate.


I think the problem may not be the accelerometers in the nunchuk so much as its odd shape and the fact that different people hold it in different positions. There is no level surface anywhere on the nunchuk so it can be a little hard to understand the difference between thrusting it forward and hammering it down, whereas side to side motions don't seem to be as much of an issue.

stedamanOctober 09, 2007

Strange review...the breakdown scores are all 7 and above but you give the total score 6.5.....that's strange...

For me at least at 8...definatly more of a multiplayer experience though.

NinGurl69 *hugglesOctober 09, 2007

ahahahahah

Share + Bookmark





Rabbids Party Box Art

Genre Action
Developer Ubisoft
Players1 - 4

Worldwide Releases

na: Rayman Raving Rabbids
Release Nov 19, 2006
PublisherUbisoft
RatingEveryone
jpn: Rabbids Party
Release Dec 14, 2006
PublisherUbisoft
RatingAll Ages
eu: Rayman Raving Rabbids
Release Dec 08, 2006
PublisherUbisoft
Rating3+
aus: Rayman Raving Rabbids
Release Year 2006
PublisherUbisoft
RatingParental Guidance

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement