We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.

Donkey Kong Land (3DS VC) Review

by Danny Bivens - June 23, 2014, 4:43 am PDT
Total comments: 9

8.5

All these years later, Game Boy platforming on 3DS stills feels pretty satisfying.

The Donkey Kong Country series made a huge splash on the Super Nintendo. The challenging gameplay, great music and beautiful graphics helped cement the game in gamers’ minds and make it a classic. Donkey Kong Land, known as Super Donkey Kong GB in Japan, sets out to replicate what was done in the original games, in a scaled down, black and white portablemanner. The results are surprisingly impressive.

Aesthetically, Donkey Kong Land makes for a great visual and aural experience. Although the color palette is limited with the Game Boy technology, Rare did a great job bringing the game to life on the hardware. Character sprites look great and the backgrounds are detailed enough to still have the feel of the home console big brother. Unlike some earlier Game Boy titles, the camera is zoomed out just enough to give you a good view of incoming enemies or treacherous jumps. The music in the game is also fantastic and contains essentially 8-bit versions of songs that were included in the original game.

Controlling Donkey and Diddy Kong is simple and generally feels pretty good, but can sometimes be a bit slippery and can sometimes result in some cheap deaths. These are few and far between and could result from some of the levels being genuinely hard more than the game cheating the player.

Donkey Kong Land is a moderately challenging, albeit short, game with great visuals considering the technology. The great music adds to the experience that gives gamers a true handheld version of its console brethren. If this title comes out in your region, it is totally worth throwing down for it.

Summary

Pros
  • Captures feel of console brethren
  • Great music
  • Great visuals
Cons
  • A little on the short side
  • Somewhat slippery control

Talkback

KITT 10KJune 23, 2014

About time this became available in North America.

EiksirfJune 23, 2014

At the time, I thought this was almost unplayable on Game Boy. I had to put it on tv with Super Game Boy to color in the graphics a bit and blow up the picture size in order to get a handle on it. Turned out to be a good game.

KhushrenadaJune 23, 2014

Quote from: KITT

About time this became available in North America.

It's only out in Japan right now.

KITT 10KJune 23, 2014

My bad, I meant to say, "About time this WILL become available in North America".

pokepal148June 23, 2014

Nintendo put a game on virtual console, HAHAHAHAHA

KhushrenadaJune 23, 2014

Has there been a problem with the 3DS VC?

PhilPhillip Stortzum, June 23, 2014

Quote from: pokepal148

Nintendo put a game I really want right now on virtual console, HAHAHAHAHA

That's sort of more realistic.

pokepal148June 23, 2014

Quote from: Phil

Quote from: pokepal148

Nintendo put a game I really want right now on virtual console, HAHAHAHAHA

That's sort of more realistic.

Idk I feel like as someone who would rather have HANDHELD games on the HANDHELD virtual console which hardly seems unreasonable the rate of games being released is absolutely atrocious

To put some perspective here the last gb game released before mega may in NA was Pinball: Revenge of Gator in fucking October of last year and the last gbc game (which by the way, a whopping 17 of those have been released in total, what the hell NOA) was mario tennis in December.

Meanwhile they are more then happy to drown us with NES games that any reasonable person would rather have on the Wii U like what the heck Nintendo, if your going to release NES games fine but at least freaking try to have some sort of balance.

PhilPhillip Stortzum, June 23, 2014

I'm like, don't be actin' like you want me to buy the same game on two systems, you jerks.
Unified account system with cross buy. This is 2014. Not 1974.

Share + Bookmark





Genre Action
Developer Rare
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: Donkey Kong Land
Release Feb 26, 2015
PublisherNintendo
RatingEveryone
jpn: Super Donkey Kong GB
Release Apr 02, 2014
PublisherNintendo
RatingAll Ages
eu: Donkey Kong Land
Release Oct 16, 2014
PublisherNintendo
Rating3+
aus: Donkey Kong Land
Release Oct 16, 2014
PublisherNintendo
RatingGeneral

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement