We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
GBA

North America

Drake & Josh

by Jonathan Metts - April 4, 2007, 5:06 pm PDT
Total comments: 19

4.5

Passwords.

The Legend of Zelda introduced direct game saves to NES owners in 1987. Twenty years later, a few sad games still haven't figured out this standard feature. THQ's Drake & Josh, yet another Nickelodeon-licensed game, is among the password-stricken. No, this isn't a huge problem overall (the passwords are only four numbers long), but it is a good indication of how little effort was put into the production of this game.

Drake & Josh reeks of the kind of situation where a developer has an established game engine and a generic game design sitting around, and a big name publisher comes along proposing to slap licensed characters onto that framework. Aside from the lame, text-based dialogue between levels, this game has nothing to do with the show it is based on. I know, because I forced myself to watch two episodes on Nickelodeon while playing through the game. It's about two teenage brothers; one is smart and geeky, the other is a girl-crazy guitar player. They get into crazy situations thanks to their literally evil sister Megan, who plays pranks on them and basically just ruins their lives for no good reason. The show is heavily based on physical comedy, which isn't conveyed at all in the GBA "adaptation".

You play through two (yes, only two) different environments, the school and the movie theater, taking turns controlling each brother. Drake, the musician, sneaks around to avoid teachers, ushers, and security cameras, but stealth goes out the window when he needs to play a quick guitar solo to lure in a pretty girl. Drake uses girls like mindless drones and casts them aside once they have opened a door or pressed a switch for him. These levels have strict time limits and can be very frustrating, especially when trying to walk past the inexplicable paintball guns mounted to the walls, which fire paintballs that inexplicably bounce off surfaces and stun you for a few seconds.

Josh's levels are completely puzzle-based and are much more fun, though probably too difficult for this game's target audience, pre-teen girls who are too stupid to realize how awful the TV show is. These portions of the game are just one block-pushing puzzle after another, and eventually these have a time limit as well, making for a fairly intense experience. Fans of Zelda dungeons and such would enjoy these puzzles if they could soldier on through Drake's poor-man's-Metal-Gear levels.

There are also a few mini-games with overly complicated controls and zero fun. After encountering them in the "adventure," you can play them anytime…by entering a separate password. Good grief.

Drake & Josh is yet another mediocre licensed GBA game with awful production values and occasional flashes of quality buried too deep to be worth your consideration. Your daughter might be sufficiently occupied by it if she's too lost in her own fantasies of making out with Drake to realize that the game has nothing to do with the show.

Score

Graphics Sound Control Gameplay Lastability Final
5 3 8 5 4 4.5
Graphics
5

Looks fine for a top-down GBA game, but there are only two different backgrounds. Story scenes are just detached heads and text.

Sound
3

There are only two songs played in the main game, as far as I can tell. One is just boring; the other is ear-splitting. Needless to say, you're better off with the volume turned all the way down.

Control
8

Slightly sluggish but perfectly acceptable. The mini-game controls are way too complicated considering how simple the activities are.

Gameplay
5

Mediocre-to-awful stealth levels are not quite offset by the more than competent puzzle levels. All of it is repetitive, and none of it has much in common with the source material.

Lastability
4

The game takes three or four hours to complete, which is about normal for licensed GBA schlock. You could go back and play the mini-games again, but that would just be cruel. It's all tied together by a state of the art password saving feature that lets you stop playing and resume later at a point sort of close to where you left off!!!!

Final
4.5

Move along, nothing to see here.

Summary

Pros
  • Clever block puzzles in Josh's levels
Cons
  • Frustrating, anti-fun stealth gameplay in Drake's levels
  • Passwords? PASSWORDS?
  • Poor use of a middling television license
  • Throwaway mini-games
Review Page 2: Conclusion

Talkback

Infernal MonkeyApril 04, 2007

I was wrong about TMNT, this is the last great GBA game!

UncleBobRichard Cook, Guest ContributorApril 04, 2007

Perhaps I should try networking 16 copies of *this* game together?

Please enjoy the hilarious TSI that Dan just made for my review.

vuduApril 05, 2007

What's a TSI?

NWR_pap64Pedro Hernandez, Contributing WriterApril 05, 2007

I hate Drake and Josh. I hate it with a PASSION. Why? Because of the many wrong things the characters are portraying.

This shows teaches kids to be shallow, greedy, selfish, arrogant bitches and d*cks. I HATE how the little sister gets away with everything she does and doesn't get punished for it. I hate how Drake is an ass**** in training and Josh is a dumbass (which the show is well aware of and uses it to their advantage).

So yeah...HATE HATE HATE!!!!!!

BloodworthDaniel Bloodworth, Staff AlumnusApril 05, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: vudu
What's a TSI?


LOL, it's a term that I'm pretty sure we came up with ourselves. TSI - Top Story Image. The pictures on the top of the front page.

I truly admire Jonny's viciousness in this review:

"Josh's levels are completely puzzle-based and are much more fun, though probably too difficult for this game's target audience, pre-teen girls who are too stupid to realize how awful the TV show is."

"Your daughter might be sufficiently occupied by it if she's too lost in her own fantasies of making out with Drake to realize that the game has nothing to do with the show."

That's awesome. Had me rolling.

I wrote it all for you, Jon.

rmthompsonApril 10, 2007

"Josh's levels are completely puzzle-based and are much more fun, though probably too difficult for this game's target audience, pre-teen girls who are too stupid to realize how awful the TV show is."

"Your daughter might be sufficiently occupied by it if she's too lost in her own fantasies of making out with Drake to realize that the game has nothing to do with the show."

What a disgusting affront on video game players.

Sir, you will be smart to learn that not all videogamers, or visitors to this site, are 25 year old college students who enjoy a good game of Halo as much as they enjoy a date with a girl.

My daughter, at age 10, is a fan of this show, and while I agree that it is terrible, that is NOT to say my daughter is too STUPID because she watches it. She is 10, and when you were 10 I doubt your tastes were as sophisticated as they are now, nor would I expect you to have understood plot complications and other characterizations that make a show "good."

This show is pretty basic, and that's why it's enjoyed. It uses the same basic plot points and characters that made Full House a hit in the 90's, and most of it is down even lamer than Full House.

However my daughter does not want to "Make Out" with them, and she certainly doesn't deserve to be called stupid. You are disgusting for so effortlessly brushing off this market, and in doing so, readers like me who have kids and will never return to view another review.

Good day,

Ryan Thompson
rmthompson@tampabay.rr.com

oohhboyHong Hang Ho, Staff AlumnusApril 11, 2007

Congrats on the hate post Jonnyboy. I was wondering when something was going to break around here. You have finally done it. You broken the back of humanity and unleashed the the evil within.

Keep up the good work.

If I have no right to say whether a show is "good" then I have no right to say whether a game is "good" and thus my job here is completely pointless. Considering that you read my review in the first place, I think you disagree whether you will admit it or not.

When I was ten years old, I watched Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers. And yes, I realized that the show was not good, that it was filmed on a minimal budget with poor actors and scenes hacked together from the Japanese version. I just didn't care, the same way I now watch American Idol even though it is a terrible show.

My sister is 23 years old, and she still watches the Disney Channel religiously and is probably a fan of Drake & Josh as well. She won't admit that these shows are terrible, and that upsets me...I don't care if she watches them, hell it's a free country, but we should all have the ability to critique things for ourselves.

You are totally correct in that the audience for this TV show and game does not include me or most of our website's audience. But I don't tailor my reviews to a particular audience; I can only say what I observe and think about the game's qualities. Of course the comments you quote are generalizations, even stereotypes, made for humorous value. If you don't think they're funny, that's fine with me. But I do definitely think that Drake's role on the show is to seduce females, and his is characterized as caring only about doing just that. It may be the one thing about the show that is well adapted in the video game, because he controls girls as if they were robots through the power of his guitar. Does that sound like something you want your daughter playing? If not, then you should thank me because my review, however offensive you found it to be, kept your daughter from being exposed to the hurtful dogma of this video game. If only you would do the same for her with the TV show.

Drake & Josh for GBA is what's offensive, not my writing. That these poorly made games are snidely marketed to children who don't know better, that's offensive. That THQ and Nickelodeon would sell a game to the show's fans that has nothing to do with the show beyond the box art, that's offensive. That games are still being released with password saves, that's f-ing offensive. So blow off and good riddance if you can't get over a half-assed joke in a review of a game that should not exist in the first place. It's not a great review but I'm not going to apologize for it, either.

GoldenPhoenixApril 11, 2007

Johnny is right, you should tailor the reviews to the crowd it may or may not be directed to. If you do, you get a review like Game Informers Paper Mario for GC review.

KDR_11kApril 12, 2007

Quote

Originally posted by: rmthompson
"Josh's levels are completely puzzle-based and are much more fun, though probably too difficult for this game's target audience, pre-teen girls who are too stupid to realize how awful the TV show is."

"Your daughter might be sufficiently occupied by it if she's too lost in her own fantasies of making out with Drake to realize that the game has nothing to do with the show."

What a disgusting affront on video game players.

Sir, you will be smart to learn that not all videogamers, or visitors to this site, are 25 year old college students who enjoy a good game of Halo as much as they enjoy a date with a girl.

My daughter, at age 10, is a fan of this show, and while I agree that it is terrible, that is NOT to say my daughter is too STUPID because she watches it. She is 10, and when you were 10 I doubt your tastes were as sophisticated as they are now, nor would I expect you to have understood plot complications and other characterizations that make a show "good."

This show is pretty basic, and that's why it's enjoyed. It uses the same basic plot points and characters that made Full House a hit in the 90's, and most of it is down even lamer than Full House.

However my daughter does not want to "Make Out" with them, and she certainly doesn't deserve to be called stupid. You are disgusting for so effortlessly brushing off this market, and in doing so, readers like me who have kids and will never return to view another review.

Good day,

Jack Thompson


Fixed.

wanderingApril 12, 2007

Quote

This shows teaches kids to be shallow, greedy, selfish, arrogant bitches and d*cks.

I think you've just described every single show on both Nickelodeon and the Disney Channel.

Caffeinated CheeseApril 12, 2007

So says Wario, the hero of morals and ethics.

ArtimusApril 12, 2007

This review is absurd! You guys clearly did not put in enough time with the game. This is just another horrible review from the commies here at NWR! Geesh. Now I know for sure that when I actually play this game it'll rock.

matt ozApril 13, 2007

Is this thread for real?

DeguelloJeff Shirley, Staff AlumnusApril 13, 2007

How come my reviews of bad games never get this much attention? *sigh*

NinGurl69 *hugglesApril 13, 2007

Cuz they weren't unexpectedly bad like Pangya?

Share + Bookmark





Drake & Josh Box Art

Genre Adventure
Developer A2M
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: Drake & Josh
Release Mar 13, 2007
PublisherTHQ
RatingEveryone

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement