North America

Band Hero

by Pedro Hernandez - August 31, 2009, 9:54 pm PDT
Total comments: 2

Guitar Hero in a family-friendly package.

Riding off the success Guitar Hero saw with families and younger gamers, Activision will be releasing Band Hero, which features band-style gameplay similar to that of Guitar Hero: World Tour and will be structurally similar to Guitar Hero 5. Players can take on the role of vocalist, guitarist, bass player, or drummer, and can drop in or out and change the difficulty through a menu at will. The focus of the game is to create family -riendly appeal, reflected in the track list. There will be 65 master tracks.

The following songs have been confirmed to appear in Band Hero:

  • "ABC" by The Jackson 5
  • "American Pie" by Don McLean
  • "Black Cat" by Janet Jackson
  • "Black Horse and the Cherry Tree" by KT Tunstall
  • "Dirty Little Secret" by The All-American Rejects
  • "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" by Poison
  • "I Want You To Want Me" by Cheap Trick
  • "If You Could Only See Me" by Tonic
  • "Just a Girl" by No Doubt
  • "Let's Dance" by David Bowie
  • "Love Story" by Taylor Swift
  • "Picture to Burn" by Taylor Swift
  • "You Belong With Me" by Taylor Swift
  • "Pretty Woman" by Roy Orbison
  • "She Will be Loved" by Maroon 5
  • "Sugar, We're Goin' Down" by Fall Out Boy
  • "Thnks fr the Mmrs" by Fall Out Boy
  • "Take Back the City" by Snow Patrol
  • "Take What You Take" by Lilly Allen
  • "Turn Off the Lights" by Nelly Furtado
  • In addition to these songs, Band Hero allows players to import downloadable content from Guitar Hero: World Tour. Some in-disc songs from Guitar Hero: World Tour and Guitar Hero: Smash Hits can be imported to Band Hero for a small fee. Some of these songs, however, can't be imported due to licensing issues. Others artists confirmed to appear in Band Hero include Robbie Willians, Duffy, The Spice Girls, Pink, The Go-Gos, The Killers, Duran Duran, and Kylie Minogue.

    Some of the artists will also make appearances as in-game characters and will participate with the rest of the characters. Taylor Swift and Adam Levine of Maroon 5 have been confirmed to be in the game.

    Band Hero will hit retail stores in two versions: the stand-alone game version and the band kit, which includes a guitar, a set of drums, a USB microphone, and a pedal stand at 199.00 dollars. It will be released on November 3.


    Donkguy KongSeptember 01, 2009

    These seem like better songs than Guitar Hero 5!  Can those games import to each other?  That would definitely help!

    SteleSeptember 01, 2009

    Indeed.  I'd rather play with Taylor Swift than Kurt Cobain...  :o well, from a certain point of view...  :rolleyes:

    Share + Bookmark

    Genre Rhythm

    Worldwide Releases

    na: Band Hero
    Release Nov 03, 2009
    RatingEveryone 10+

    Related Content

    Got a news tip? Send it in!