3DS

North America

Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D

by Neal Ronaghan - June 28, 2011, 9:04 am PDT
Total comments: 15

9

High-score gameplay never felt so visceral.

The Resident Evil series is generally focused on a story, as, especially now, the series' mythos is extremely dense. However, Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D is not focused on story at all. Instead, it's a high score-focused game where you try to kill as many enemies as you can before time runs out. Basically, it's the Mature-rated Yoshi Touch & Go for the 3DS.

The gameplay style started out as a popular side game in Resident Evil 4 and 5, and this full retail release takes the groundwork laid out previously and expands upon it, delivering 30 missions packed with devious enemies and many tense moments. The typical mission begins with a timer and the instructions to defeat as many enemies as you can. You then proceed to use your weapons and surroundings to slaughter foes. Fallen enemies drop weapons and healing herbs that you can pick up to replenish your ammo and health.

Depending on the character you choose, you have a different set of guns and grenades. In total, there are eight characters, all of which have slightly different attributes. The characters also all have different melee attacks, and while they all generally provide the same results, some of them are fun to watch (see pretty much anything Krauser, Hunk, and Wesker do). That helps the entire cast feel dissimilar, even when you eventually unlock the one weapon load-out you use with every character.

The Mercenaries 3D also adds skills and medals to the game. Skills are perks that you can equip and level up. You unlock them throughout the game by completing different objectives, and you can equip up to three at a time. The more you use them, the more experience they get, going from level one to three and getting more potent along the way. Medals are achievements you can strive for. They are tied to different unlocks, and offer a good mix of attainable and difficult goals.

If you're good enough, you can burn through the missions in 5 to 7 hours, but this game isn't that easy. Some of the later stages are downright cruel and require you to master the game's intricacies to win. There are also numerous unlockables, ranging from characters, skills, and weapon load-outs, that add an incentive to replay past levels and get higher scores.

The use of 3D isn't necessary to complete the game, but it looks damn good. As another tactic for immersing you in the world of the game, it works wonderfully. I might not always play with it on, but I enjoy it when I do.

One of the few sour spots is the fact that all of the levels and enemies are pretty much stripped right out of previous games in the series. With the enemies, it isn't that big of a deal, but the levels start to repeat too quickly, and when there is already a somewhat smaller amount of missions, it's disappointing.

As a single-player game, The Mercenaries 3D is already very good. There is also local and online co-op play for the majority of the missions (you can't play the training missions in co-op). This offers another way to aid your progress, as the multiplayer is tied to the single-player goals and unlocks. Online multiplayer seems to work very well, and without much lag. We will have more in-depth follow-up impressions shortly after the game's North American launch.

Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D isn't for everybody. If you're expecting a full-fledged Resident Evil game, you'll be disappointed (but should check out the short demo for Resident Evil: Revelations included with this game), but if you're looking for a portable-optimized intense high-score game centered around killing zombie-like enemies, this fits the bill. The Mercenaries 3D is worthy of a full retail release, and hopefully we'll see more like it in the future.

Summary

Pros
  • Addictive high-score gameplay
  • Local and online co-op
  • Lots of unlockables
  • Very brief but good Resident Evil: Revelations demo
Cons
  • Light on content
  • Weak level variety

Talkback

Great review! I wasn't planning on buying this game, but now I guess I will have to somehow scroungeup some cash and pick it up.

KITT 10KJune 28, 2011

There is only 2 drawbacks to this game that I can think of, 1: the inability to reset the game's progress, and 2: the lack of a story line. I've had the game for only a few hours, but overall it IS a great game and IS worth getting. It's definitely worthy of the franchise name "Resident Evil" without a doubt.

While I do say it is a little light on content, some other reviews seem to tear it a new asshole. I'm about 6-7 hours in and struggling through the extra missions. Maybe 6-7 hours is short for some people, but that's fine for me, especially when I'm not even done with the game.

AdrockJune 28, 2011

I was planning on getting the game anyway but I have a question for the reviewer and anyone else who has the game. Does the game feel like it should have just been an extra mode in Revelations instead of a standalone game? I love the Mercenaries mode in both RE4 and RE5. Even with missions, the impression I had was that it wasn't worth full price and as such, I would wait until it was $15 or $20.

CericJune 28, 2011

Quote from: Adrock

I was planning on getting the game anyway but I have a question for the reviewer and anyone else who has the game. Does the game feel like it should have just been an extra mode in Revelations instead of a standalone game? I love the Mercenaries mode in both RE4 and RE5. Even with missions, the impression I had was that it wasn't worth full price and as such, I would wait until it was $15 or $20.

Quote from: Neal]

AdrockJune 28, 2011

Hmm, I probably should have finished reading the review then. I'm still interested in hearing from other people who bought the game.

It all depends on what you want out of a game. Mercenaries 3D is a high-score-focused arcade game. It's more fleshed out than the modes in RE4 and RE5, but it's not like it is a different game. For me, I love the Mercenaries play style, and the tweaks and changes made in this game. If you want a story, a really long game, etc., this ain't for you. If you're okay with spending $40 on a high score game that has about 6-7 hours of content (and 30 missions, subtracting the training/early missions leaves you with something like 20 really good missions), then this game is for you. If not, wait for Revelations.

This review/game is definitely the case where the content of the game jived with me real well. It isn't the case for other people, and you need to make sure you know what you're getting into before you buy this game, lest you get buyer's remorse (and then are screwed since no place is accepting this game for trade).

KITT 10KJune 28, 2011

I bought the game today and as I said in my last post, it IS a good game worth getting. The controls are easy to get used to and the gameplay is great. I said there are 2 things I didn't care for, 1: the inability to reset the game content, (which can be over looked easily), and 2: lack of a story line. But, (for ME at least), having such a short time limit in each stage kinda lowers the enjoyment of the game a little. I think this game is more for multi player game play which is pretty cool in it's self. BUT overall, the game IS still a must have. If anyone still wants more of an opinion on the game send a message right to me through my NWR profile and I'll answer as best as I can.

AdrockJune 28, 2011

For me, I don't know if it's a simple matter of which play style I prefer more. I like the story mode AND the Mercenaries mode. I'll most definitely pick this up at some point, I'm just not sure I would drop $40 on something I got for free twice before. If there's a Mercenaries mode unlocked after completing Revelations (even if it isn't as robust as Mercenaries 3D), that would certainly make it easier to wait even longer to pick up Mercenaries 3D. I doubt it though.

The inability to reset the game's content is kind of a bummer, but what I find even more disappoint is that there are only 8 selectable characters. I would have personally liked to have seen Leon, Ada, Carlos and Angela Miller from Degeneration. It kind of makes me wonder if a special edition is in the works for the future. RE4 and RE5 both had subsequent versions that added loads of content. I could see Capcom repackaging both Revelations and Mercenaries 3D on one game card and adding stuff, namely the characters that didn't make it into Mercenaries 3D. If you thought being unable to reset the game data was screwing gamers over........

I never once regretted paying $35 for Yoshi Touch & Go, so I don't have any issues with paying full price for a high score game.

KDR_11kJune 29, 2011

Quote from: Adrock

I could see Capcom repackaging both Revelations and Mercenaries 3D on one game card and adding stuff, namely the characters that didn't make it into Mercenaries 3D. If you thought being unable to reset the game data was screwing gamers over........

Purchase interest: Dropped to zero.

SeacorJune 30, 2011

Is there an Online leaderboard?
Any Streetpass / Spotpass DLC features?

Quote from: Seacor

Is there an Online leaderboard?
Any Streetpass / Spotpass DLC features?

Negative. Online leaderboard would've been nice. DLC as well, though the 3DS waters for DLC are quite untamed at this point.

KDR_11kJune 30, 2011

Shit, for a highscore hunt online leader boards should be mandatory these days. There's absolutely no excuse for their absence, especially now that spotpass could be used to sync them up even on 3DSes that don't have constant online connectivity.

Dancing_RobotJuly 02, 2011

Gotta say, love the hell out of this game. It's fun to just pick up and play, and he's right- near the end the game gets TOUGH. Unlocking and leveling skills is addicting, and trying to get S ranks with every character on every mission is going to take me quite a long time. Glad I picked it, great game. :)

Share + Bookmark





Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D Box Art

Developer Capcom

Worldwide Releases

na: Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D
Release Jun 28, 2011
PublisherCapcom
RatingMature
jpn: Biohazard The Mercenaries 3D
Release Jun 02, 2011
PublisherCapcom
Rating17+
eu: Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D
Release Jul 01, 2011
PublisherCapcom
Rating18+
aus: Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D
Release Jun 28, 2011
PublisherCapcom
RatingMature (15+)
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement