We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
Switch

North America

DOOM (Switch) Preview

by Jared Rosenberg - September 21, 2017, 8:42 am PDT
Total comments: 11

DOOM on the Nintendo Switch may only be 30fps, but that doesn't prevent the gameplay from being responsive and smooth.

Check out a brief video preview and over 27 minutes of DOOM Switch gameplay below.

Talkback

ShyGuySeptember 21, 2017

Glad to hear it has a least one little motion control thing. I hope they patch in Splatoon style aiming.

StratosSeptember 21, 2017

I will get either Doom or Wolfenstein, but don't think I'll get both. Very torn on which to jump on.

Luigi DudeSeptember 21, 2017

Quote from: Donkos

I will get either Doom or Wolfenstein, but don't think I'll get both. Very torn on which to jump on.

Considering Doom is coming out first that would the good one to start.  Both games have pretty similar gameplay so might as well get the first one out and then several months later if you liked Doom then go for Wolfenstein as well.

EnnerSeptember 21, 2017

Very impressive that they got it to run as well as it does on the Switch. Some of the technical shortcomings are a bummer for me after playing it the game on a pricey gaming computer, but it's still super cool that the id Tech engine can be scaled down to a playable state on portable hardware.

BlackNMild2k1September 21, 2017

Looks Dope. I'm sold.

I haven't played Doom since.... Doom 64 I think.
I've seen a more recent one in action, but I didn't personally play it.

This looks good on the Switch, so I'm definitely down.

ThePermSeptember 21, 2017

I don't think I have ever felt like I should complain about a game running at a solid 30fps.

Luigi DudeSeptember 22, 2017

Quote from: ThePerm

I don't think I have ever felt like I should complain about a game running at a solid 30fps.

Hell the majority of the population doesn't even know the difference between 30fps or 60fps.  It's like 720 or 1080, unless you're literally showing them a side by side comparison, nobody is going to know the difference unless they're a hardcore tech junky who actually deals with this shit for a living.

As long as it's a mostly smooth 30fps experience I don't see the tech issues playing a big deal with the game reception.  Besides anyone that wants the best graphics at 60fps would be playing this game on a PC at max settings anyway which isn't the audience for this port in the first place.

EnnerSeptember 24, 2017

If you feel nothing going from Splatoon matches back to walking around Inkopolis, then alright. Better comparison, if you felt nothing going from Super Smash Bros. Melee to a lot of other games in its time, then frame rate isn't a sensitive point for you.

Personally, beyond the look of it, a higher frame rate typically carries with it a vastly quicker response time between controller and on-screen action. I feel that the connection between player and character or on-screen action is more in sync with a higher frame rate. From my limited understanding of it, it technically has to feel and be more connected. For me, the difference between a higher frame rate is drastically more pronounced than a higher resolution.

I'm not the kind to say that 30fps is garbage; Breath of the Wild controls just beautifully as it is. It's just that at the 60fps of Splatoon 2, there is an extra touch to playing as an Inkling that gives me an extra heightened sense of the Inkling's world.

In short, it's about the (personal) feel!

ThePermSeptember 24, 2017

I'm just not a fan of people getting too worked up over technical details when content and their level of fun is more important.

There are people who run their TVs at 120hz and I think it makes most shows look garish. A slightly different issue, but I can enjoy games like cubivore.

Doom is a game that pushes hardware. Though, sometimes I feel like people focus on the wrong technical aspects. I'm more impressed by higher polygon rates, and texture clarity.

The movie Indiana Jones looks more real than any game even on a VHS. Doubling resolution may not be the best use of resources. Movies are at 24fps.

A smart programmer would redesign games to have different objects at different frame rates. There's dynamic frame-rates and resolution, but there isn't much in the way different objects on different planes having different frame rate priorities. Unity has something similar to this, but it's not in the way I'm thinking. Though I can't imagine this as something being too far off.

The only time I've really had a problem with framerate was Mad Max because it got down to 15fps in a  zone with a lot of sage brush, and banjo tooie because it was terrible and gave me motion sickness.

Mop it upSeptember 25, 2017

Quote from: Enner

If you feel nothing going from Splatoon matches back to walking around Inkopolis, then alright. Better comparison, if you felt nothing going from Super Smash Bros. Melee to a lot of other games in its time, then frame rate isn't a sensitive point for you.

I find it pretty noticeable in a game like Mario Kart 8, where playing with 3-4 players is around half the framerate of 1-2. Even people I know who barely play games can tell that 3-4 players in Mario Kart is a lot less smooth than single player.

KhushrenadaSeptember 25, 2017

I just noticed that yesterday when playing Mario Kart 8 Wii U with 4 players for the first time. I'd played a bunch of 2 player matches but as we were racing, something seemed odd about the track and as I studied the screen, I realized that the look and graphics had been downscaled quite a bit which surprised me. It was still fast action and I could race just fine but it was a little disappointing to see the graphics scaled down like that especially when I'd been doing some 2 player online racing and never noticed any dip in graphics.

Share + Bookmark





Switch

Game Profile

Doom Box Art

Genre Shooter
Developer Id
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: Doom
Release Nov 10, 2017
PublisherBethesda Softworks
RatingMature
eu: Doom
Release TBA
PublisherBethesda Softworks
Rating18+

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement