DS

North America

Metroid Prime: Hunters

by Karlie Yeung - May 11, 2004, 11:50 am PDT
Total comments: 34

Learn more about Metroid Prime Hunters from our hands-on time with the final build. Massive preview update!

Last updated: 03/01/2006 by Daniel Bloodworth



Representatives from NST detailed how Hunters evolved from its early demo form at E3 2004 to its final state today. They had wanted to implement online gameplay from the start of the project, but the original schedule for the game placed it on release lists months before Nintendo WiFi Connection would be up and running. However, after E3 2005, the feedback was "too much to ignore," and the team was given the extra time to make online happen.

The single player adventure features an entirely new story that takes place between Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime 2: Echoes. Samus is sent outside of the jurisdiction of the Galactic Federation's own forces to investigate a telepathic message broadcast that was intercepted by the Federation. The message regards a series of powerful crystals scattered across multiple planets, and Samus is instructed to collect them to keep them from falling into the wrong hands. Other bounty hunters have also learned of these crystals and seek to acquire them for their own reasons.

As in previous demos, Metroid Prime Hunters has a variety of control schemes using either the stylus or face buttons, and NST recommends that players experiment with the different variations and sensitivities to find the control scheme that suits them best. In addition to the touch screen buttons to switch to missiles or use your character's alternate form (such as the morph ball), you can also change beams, or switch to the scan visor. Interestingly enough, Samus starts the game with her basic arsenal intact: morph ball, bombs, missiles, and charge beam.

Samus's ship serves as a base where you can change settings, save, or move locations. As you are exploring, you will sometimes receive messages from the ship, alerting you that another bounty hunter is in the vicinity. You'll battle these other hunters throughout the game, and they can steal crystals that you've acquired, retreating to another planet or area that you'll need to locate in order to retrieve the crystal. Once you've removed all of the major artifacts from an area, a self-destruct sequence will activate, and you'll need to move quickly through new routes in order to escape in time.

Multiplayer features include download play as well as multi-card and online play. The additional bounty hunters are unlocked in multiplayer either by defeating them in the adventure mode or by defeating a friend who uses that character in multiplayer. Each of the new hunters has a unique alternate form and unique weapons. Any player can acquire any of the weapons as power-ups during matches, but if you use the weapon your character is most familiar with, it will be more effective or have extra functionality. You can group into teams, so finding combinations of characters that work well together can give you an advantage as well.

Friends can be added to your list just like in other Wi-Fi Connection titles: either by playing with that friend over a local connection or by exchanging friend codes. However, Hunters also introduces the rivals system. You can add a rival either by setting your DS to Rival Radar and hoping to pass to another Hunters player on the street (just like Bark Mode in Nintendogs) or you can add players you've connected with online to your rivals list. You can then check your rivals' stats to see who's getting more kills, etc.

Setting up a multiplayer game in Hunters is a lot more open than in Mario Kart DS. After you decide whether to play worldwide or with friends, you can choose from a list of games waiting for players, view the details on each game, or create a game yourself. If you decide to host a game, you will be able to choose from a number of different rules pertaining to the mode you want to play, you will choose the arena, and you will be able to decide whether or not to allow friendly fire between teammates. Once you've chosen a game, you'll enter a lobby with the other players where you'll be able to chat with people on your friends list, either by text or by holding down the X button to activate the microphone like a walkie-talkie. Once each player has settled on the character they want to use, the host can start the game at any time, no matter how many players have joined. After the match, you'll reconvene briefly to look at the scores and smack talk a bit.

There are seven modes of play to choose from in multiplayer.

  • Battle is a standard deathmatch in which the player to get the most kills in the time limit wins.

  • Survival is a stock match that continues until one player is left standing.

  • Prime Hunter is sort of a game of tag. The first player to get a kill becomes the Prime Hunter, and his power will drain continuously unless he kills other players. If another player kills the Prime Hunter, they will become the new Prime Hunter, and whoever has carried the title longest at the end of the match wins.

  • Capture has you grabbing a crystal and returning to your base. However, once you have the crystal, you are prohibited from changing into your alternate form, making you a slower target.

  • Bounty is a variation of Capture.

  • Defender requires you to control a certain section of the map longer than your opponents, king of the hill style.

  • Nodes is similar to Defender, but with multiple rings scattered throughout the environment that you have to take control of.

    Part of the robust online system of Metroid Prime Hunters is each player's Hunters License, which tracks tons of stats including kills, wins, streaks, favorite weapons/characters/stages, lucky stages (where you get the most wins), time played, distance covered, etc. After playing Mario Kart DS online, the Hunters designers were fed up with players dropping out of games, so they added connection history to the stats, so other players can see how often you stay connected to the games you start. Brilliantly, this rating only counts when players power-off their DS systems in the middle of a game, not when they lose a connection based on technical problems. Your Hunters License is further expanded if you log into the Wi-Fi Connection web site, allowing you to compare your scores to those of friends and rivals. You will even be able to browse your friends' friend lists to see if anyone else you know is playing the game, although you will still have to contact that person directly for his or her friend code.



    Last updated: 05/20/2005 by Jonathan Metts

    The E3 demo is only set up for four-player wireless gameplay, but PGC has learned that the single-player mode of Hunters is well into development and is going to be more faithful to the series than you might think. The adventure spans several planets and has some of the exploration and upgrading elements of past Metroid games, but it's also infused with the bounty hunting theme that is prevalent in the multiplayer mode.

    The story is essentially about Samus competing among other bounty hunters to retrieve a set of artifacts, which are scattered among the different planets. You travel among planets with your ship, although the player can't control it directly. Each planet is its own unique world to be explored, though it's unclear whether the level design will follow the pattern of the GameCube's Prime games. Instead of mutated native species for bosses, you'll face off against one of the rival bounty hunters already being seen in the multiplayer mode. If Samus wins, she'll win one of the artifacts. If she loses, the game continues on, but the other bounty hunter will take the artifact and flee to another planet, so Samus will have to track him down and defeat him for good.

    As for upgrading, there probably won't be new movement upgrades in the tradition of the series, but there are a total of eight weapons to be found, and it seems that once you find them, they are in your inventory permanently. So the weapon upgrades do seem to work as usual in that respect. A big difference, however, is that Samus can only carry two weapons (plus her trusty power beam and missiles) at a time, and the rest are stored on her ship. Different areas and enemies will call for particular weapons, so there is some strategy and perhaps puzzle-solving involved in choosing the right weapons for the job. You can return to the ship to switch out weapons, of course.

    Metroid Prime Hunters is still being billed as a multiplayer-centric title by Nintendo, but this new information should give hope to Metroid fans looking for a fix on the DS.


    Last updated: 05/17/2005 by Mike Sklens

    Metroid Prime: Hunters, in development at NST (although Retro may be involved, as their logo graces the title screen), has seen a lot of changes since both the 2004 Electronics Entertainment Expo and the release of the “First Hunt" demo. By now, most gamers know the basic idea. Samus will square off against some of the best bounty hunters in the galaxy. Nintendo has stated that Hunters will focus heavily on Samus’s offensive capabilities, meaning there will probably be little to no exploration in the game.

    The E3 2005 demo includes three modes. Bounty Mode is the Hunters version of capture the flag. Hunter Battle is a classic style deathmatch, and System Hack is a variation on king of the hill.

    The System Hack mode, which is similar to Halo 2’s “Territories" game, sets up an arena similar to a game of king of the hill. The difference is that there are three "hills", which are really data access points that must be hacked, which takes several seconds during which you are quite vulnerable. Players must step into and control an area of the map. Once they have done this, they start accumulating points. After controlling one "hill", it’s possible to grab the other two, thus increasing the rate at which points rack up. The winner is the player with the most points at the end of the match.

    The other bounty hunters all have their own special abilities, including special morph forms. First there is Noxus, who can transform into a spinning top with a blade arm attack. Spire can change into a spike covered ball capable of damaging others and climbing walls. However, unlike Samus’s spider-ball from the Metroid Prime series, Spire’s ball is more like the spider-ball from Metroid 2 in that it can climb any wall. Kanden morphs into a larva and has the ability to drop tail segments that will home in on his foes. Nintendo promises that three more bounty hunters will be revealed later. It’s pretty safe to assume that some of them will have to be unlocked in the final version of the game.

    As far as looks go, Hunters has improved quite a bit since the First Hunt demo released with the Nintendo DS. The framerate has improved and there are tons of particle effects now. The team at NST has been focusing on these improvements quite a bit. A four player game will have tons of projectiles, bombs, explosions, and characters flying all over the place. Samus’s 3D model has received a makeover and looks much better now. The game’s new levels and characters are also more colorful than the First Hunt demo would lead players to believe.

    Regarding the interface, the touch screen now looks more like a visor, though gameplay is still displayed on the upper screen. There is also a “Headshot!" callout on screen that pops up when you pop off an opponent's head.

    Hunters also adds new weapons to the Metroid universe. One of them lobs balls of magma. Another can be charged to freeze opponents, but it is different from the Ice Beam in Metroid Prime. A third weapon behaves like a shotgun. Each bounty hunter has an affinity for a certain weapons in the game, and will play better when using that weapon. Also, each bounty hunter starts with a different default weapon. The default weapon has unlimited ammunition, but universal ammo pickups are used to refill other armaments. The charge function acts like a secondary fire for each weapon. For example, missiles are homing by default, but they can be charged up to become (non-homing) super missiles. The final version of the game will include more weapons and levels. Some of these levels are designed for liberal use of the morph forms.

    Currently, Metroid Prime: Hunters supports four players over a local wireless connection, and does not offer an online mode. However, the game’s AI bots are devilishly intelligent. When Hunters is finished, it will have lots of options to customize the multiplayer matches. Players will be able to set variables such as time and kill limits. There’s no word yet on whether or not the game will keep detailed statistics.

    More on the single player modes will be revealed later. Unfortunately, it’s looking like the game's single player will be little more than arena battles against AI opponents, but NST may come out and surprise us with something more in the vein of Retro's Metroid Prime adventures.


    Last updated: 05/11/2004

    The graphics of this title are startlingly similar to the GameCube version. The bottom screen is the main screen for the game and shows the action in first person mode. It is played using the touch screen, with the stylus or a finger the bottom screen is used for camera rotation, aiming and firing, and to transform into a morph ball. The game uses the same artwork, graphics, sound and architecture from Metroid Prime for GameCube so retains the look and feel of the series.

    The upper screen of the DS is used for area maps. The game also uses the wireless networking function for four-player connectivity.

  • Talkback

    KDR_11kMarch 01, 2006

    Brilliantly, this rating only counts when players power-off their DS systems in the middle of a game, not when they lose a connection based on technical problems.

    Sounds like people will power off their router instead.

    I think all disconnects should count. If someone is on a connection that is likely to disconnect in mid-match I'd like to know that beforehand. Whether it's his fault or not, it hurts the game.

    KDR, you have something of a case with regards to counting all disconnects.

    Turning off your router shouldn't be a widespread problem since it takes most routers a while to reboot, plus it screws up your other online activities, plus it's not even possible when using a public hotspot.

    ArtimusMarch 01, 2006

    From what I'm reading it sounds like this game is going to be a classic. Is that a fair hope?

    Smash_BrotherMarch 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Artimus
    From what I'm reading it sounds like this game is going to be a classic. Is that a fair hope?


    Correct. I can see two man teams going around online looking for games and it being absolutely awesome.

    As for the router issue, I had already thought of it (though I won't do it).

    It reminds me of all the things players will do to protect their online ranking. During the days of "Myth: The Fallen Lords", captains would hand "dying" units to teammates before they died so they wouldn't get the death toll against them.

    Then, there were the accounts where players would have a dummy set up to fight against for free wins.

    Ugly stuff, but eh. Sounds like it'll be hella fun so long as ranking doesn't become all consuming.

    PaLaDiNMarch 01, 2006

    Too many words about the online stuff.

    How does the single-player stack up?

    vuduMarch 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: PaLaDiN
    How does the single-player stack up?
    Gamespot.com has some really good stuff to say about the single-player experience. Chances are good you won't have to kill anyone. face-icon-small-smile.gif

    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Not a bad article, but I was hoping for a bit impressions of the game itself; not just a list of facts. It was a little too hands off. A few more opinionated statements would go a long ways; I want to know what you thought of the graphics, the touchscreen controls, etc.

    I think a really great article PGC could put together would be a "behind the scenes" type dealy where they detail how the event went down. Where at Nintendo was it held? What did Reggie have to say? How many people were in attendance? How big was the room? How long was the event for?

    It would at least offer a unique look at this event, something not yet posted on other websites. Don't let that event go to waste with just one general article that's been posted on the other Big Boy's sites. From what I understand, PGC was one of the few sites invited to attend, make use of that!

    This is a preview, duderdude3. I do not know if Dan plans to write his impressions of the game or not.

    trip1eXMarch 01, 2006

    YEah I wanted to know how the game played. Not what's in the game. Almost every game looks good on paper.

    Touchscreen controls and fps. FPS and Ds graphics. Wi-FI and multiplayer and DS. How do all these mix?

    To be fair we got a taste of the first couple points with the demo. But after a year and a couple months later we'd like to hear how all this gels.

    ************

    They should just report disconnects. You easily unplug your router or cable modem or just pull the cable out. Or you can walk out of range of the wi-fi. Dumb. If you're having technical problems consistently you shouldn't be playing anyway. I figure too the occasional technical problem will happen to everyone so if you get one or two who cares.

    But on the bright side it's better than nothing.

    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: TheYoungerPlumber
    This is a preview, duderdude3. I do not know if Dan plans to write his impressions of the game or not.



    Thank you for stating the obvious. Previews don't have to be completely objective, or in this case, a virtual fact sheet.

    I think the article is a waste of what could be something more. I'm just telling you what I would like to read. Whether that's indicative of other's thoughts on the matter, I have no idea.

    Edit: Well, as demonstrated by the post right above mine, I'm clearly not alone.

    duder, we have a policy of Previews being pretty much factual, with a separate kind of article called Impressions for opinion on an incomplete game. Dan's preview update contains a ton of info that was never available before this week...how can you complain about that? I understand that you want his opinion, and hopefully he will write that up as well, but don't discard the preview as worthless just because it is grounded in fact. There is actually a big difference between this kind of preview and a mere fact sheet from the publisher. A fact sheet is typically much shorter and contains only the details the publisher decides to include. Dan played this game for hours and spoke with some of the developers, then decided how to prioritize and organize the information. It takes more skill than you'd think, and it takes even more to write it all up without mixing in the overwhelming opinions he surely has after playing the game so much in a short span of time.

    I think you misunderstand. On our web site, Previews are factual; impressions are editorial. We have had this policy as long as I can remember, so don't be hostile.

    If you would like some impressions of the single player game, I played for a few minutes back in November.

    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
    duder, we have a policy of Previews being pretty much factual, with a separate kind of article called Impressions for opinion on an incomplete game.


    Your policies are irrelevant to the underlying issue. I would like to read the author's impressions of the game, not what is essentially a rebranded press release. Perhaps you should consider adjusting your "policies" or providing more relevant content. I respect that you want the previews to be opinion free, that's fine, but I don't believe it was the most ideal article given the event. Even GameSpot, a website which seems to exercise extreme objectivity, provided hands-on impressions of the game.

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
    Dan's preview update contains a ton of info that was never available before this week...how can you complain about that?


    Easily - I had read most of that information before on several other sites, a day earlier, no less.

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
    I understand that you want his opinion, and hopefully he will write that up as well, but don't discard the preview as worthless just because it is grounded in fact.


    Please don't put words into my mouth, never did I state was the article "worthless," instead I said it was a waste compared to what it should have been, in my opinion of course. I even said it was "not a bad article," how you construed that to mean "worthless" I have no idea.

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
    Dan played this game for hours and spoke with some of the developers, then decided how to prioritize and organize the information.


    That's all fine and dandy, but neither of those two elements were made evident in the article.

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Jonnyboy117
    It takes more skill than you'd think...


    You're wrong. I've actually written for several gaming related websites, and reported on numerous gaming events, which included an annual trip to E3 every year since 2001 in order to provide impressions of the event, which entailed writing numerous articles on a daily basis. So I present my opinion as not just a reader, but a reporter as well.

    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: TheYoungerPlumber
    I think you misunderstand. On our web site, Previews are factual; impressions are editorial. We have had this policy as long as I can remember, so don't be hostile..


    If expressing an opinion towards the betterment of PGC is "hostile," than I'll concede to be a raving madman.

    Again, PGC's policies are irrelevant; it doesn't change what I wanted to read. What I'm saying is PGC's coverage, though informative, pales in comparison to IGN's, GameSpot's, and even 1up's coverage, which provided not only all the same details, but also their impressions of the game.

    Perhaps your goal is simply not to compete, but to simply provide the bare facts. There's nothing I can do to change that, but I think PGC can do a lot more with what they have than what even the larger sites have written.

    I'm not stating this to belittle PGC, I think it's a great site, but there's also much room for improvement, and resistance to constructive criticism is certainly not a trait that fosters improvement, let alone reader support.

    ArtimusMarch 01, 2006

    Dude, maybe you could stop being a jerk and wait for the impressions!

    trip1eXMarch 01, 2006

    Well I think if your previews are just a list of features in the game then you shouldn't put 'hands-on' in the first sentence of said preview.


    I guess that's what threw me off. I was like oh that was a hands-on? I guess not. face-icon-small-sad.gif It's misleading. Hell 'preview' in and of itself this close to release date is misleading. Same with putting in the words 'final build' on top of everything else.




    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: Artimus
    Dude, maybe you could stop being a jerk and wait for the impressions!


    Which may or may not come.

    Fact is, I had a simple suggestion, which two of the PGC editors seemed to have taken issue with, despite me even acknowledging it was a good article. But being good doesn't mean it couldn't be better.

    DasmosMarch 01, 2006

    Let's all change PGC policy.

    Actually I agree that "hands-on" may not have been the best choice of words for a preview.

    For the record, I do not take issue with your suggestion, duder--I agree that impressions are more important than previews. I DO take issue with your sarcastic response to my post. Do not confuse your constructive initial post with your less-friendly response.

    duderdude3March 01, 2006

    Quote

    Originally posted by: TheYoungerPlumber
    I DO take issue with your sarcastic response to my post.


    There was nothing sarcastic about my first response to your comments. Was it frank? Most certainly.

    On the contrary, I interpreted your "This is a preview, duderdude3" to be condescending. Ah, the joys of communication via text.

    I can assure you I do not intend to cause offense by my statements, merely to support my assertion. I just have a habit of not sugar-coating my responses, especially when faced with what appears to be a less than receptive response.

    Karl Castaneda #2March 01, 2006

    Alright, guys, let's settle down. Obviously people didn't interperate things the way they were intended. No need to get stirred up in something over something so trivial.

    For the record, though, duderdude3, when reading over your comments, they did seem a little more hostile than constructive. Intention aside, calling the piece "essentially a rebranded press release" and saying that "I think the article is a waste" isn't the best way to get your message across.

    That being said, should Dan write impressions, I can assure you that you'll find them in top form.

    DeguelloJeff Shirley, Staff AlumnusMarch 01, 2006

    They DID seem hostile. They were hostile, IMO.

    I'm not sure duderdude3 fully grasps his position here on the forum. It's almost like, the way he sees it, HE was the moderator, and WE were all about to get banned.

    Isn't that hilarious?

    Settle down there, Popeye

    ArtimusMarch 01, 2006

    I sincerely hope PGC provides full hands on impressions of this argument ASAP. A preview will not suffice! I don't care what happened, or who said what, I want to know how it FELT.

    MarioMarch 01, 2006

    You're supposed to form your own opinion from the preview. Like, "oh, WiFi, neat", "oooh these modes sound cool" etc.

    MysticGohanMarch 01, 2006

    hehe, I'm amused either way. But Journalsim aside, it did seem abit "Excessive" To criticize the preview that Dan wrote, I find it more indepth than anything I've read on GameSpot or IGN, IGN's integerity is dubious and questionable at the sametime, if possible, currently the state things are in, I wouldn't doubt the two would be use in the same sentence as IGN, I do carry however a vendetta of sorts against IGN, although however I'm not biase towards them *maybe more so at other times* But I doubt many people took too kindly to the insider deal, but that's a whole nother can of worms to be opened another day.

    But all things aside, it did seem rather harsh. After all this is a dedicated News site by fans of Nintendo and gaming in general, what you seem to neglect "Which by the way, hasn't been mentioned" is that the Staff at PGC do not get paid for what they do, unlike the staff at IGN, 1UP or GameSpot, etc. all those listed get paid wages for such services.

    for what it's worth, PGC has done what others have failed. How many sites can say they have the staying power like PGC and can maintain a site for over 7 yrs.? not very many I can tell you that.

    I also worked for a few websites that did coverage for nintendo products, however amatuer. But I can understand journalism to an extent, if you have experience and wanna give advice, be more "constructive" Crticism is ok, but in light moderation, otherwise it can come off as abit insultating and offending to ones Integerity.

    Just thought I would add my two cents, now I'm broke face-icon-small-tongue.gif


    Happy now? face-icon-small-tongue.gif

    NinGurl69 *hugglesMarch 01, 2006

    They weren't impressions. What the heck were you reading? =O

    All aboard the Trainwreck.

    Smash_BrotherMarch 01, 2006

    Preview doesn't = first impressions.

    You want first impressions? Here they are:

    "I pelted some guy I didn't know with the glowing balls that come out of the hole at the end of that thing on my arm until he stopped moving, then this number on my screen went up by an increment of one. I was happy."

    Seriously, if you own a DS, you already have the Metroid Hunters demo. The gameplay will be about that except mostly against people you don't know.

    I mention our internal policy only as a means to clarify; other sites and magazines have different ways of handling previews, sometimes including opinion. We don't. So that's a perfectly reasonable way to respond to your complaint that the preview contained no opinion. You might as well complain that our reviews aren't eight pages long. The reason is that I would not allow such a monstrosity onto the site, the same as I do not allow opinion to intrude upon a preview. Other sites obviously feel differently.

    In that you seem to hold Dan's opinion in high regard and thirst for it so powerfully, I'm sure he will be flattered and even more encouraged to write impressions of the game. But I don't know if he will do so. You see, this game has been in development for a long time, and we've played many builds of it, and the fundamental mechanics have not changed much in that time. This event was not like Revolution's unveiling in May -- it's not designed to introduce you to a product and help you get a feel for what it's all about. We know what Hunters is about, and if you have a DS, chances are that you do too. This event was about detailed information of the game's deepest features, many of which are not easily demoed in just a couple of hours, hence our reliance on Nintendo for certain information. Consider, for instance, that Dan missed a good chunk of "free gameplay time" so he could conduct an interview with the developers, which will be posted tonight.

    It was my suggestion to use the phrase "hands-on" in the abstract, because Dan did get to play this game for himself at the event, and because some of the information in the preview comes directly from his playing time. There's nothing dishonest or misleading about it. It is a hands-on preview. NOT hands-on impressions.

    I try to be very receptive to feedback of all types, and I'm trying to respond directly to your criticism in a timely manner and in the same tone with which we are addressed, within reason. What I'm getting from your comments is that the divide between previews and impressions, to which we adhere fairly strictly, is not always well understood by our readers, particularly people who have not been reading the site for years and years (unlike most of the posters in this thread). And I'm getting the message that people want game impressions to go with previews whenever possible, which is a reasonable request even though you may not always be happy with the results (for instance, if we didn't have enough time with the game to form a solid opinion or make any new observations).

    KnowsNothingMarch 01, 2006

    For the record, impressions are much more important to me than previews, and I value impressions from PGC with higher regard than impressions from other sites because I usually know the writer to some extent, and how that may have effected his or her opinion. Also, the impressions are usually about things I want to hear, whereas some sites take a long time to say nothing useful face-icon-small-tongue.gif

    BloodworthDaniel Bloodworth, Staff AlumnusMarch 01, 2006

    Regarding the timing of the article, I apologize, but I got this up about as fast as I could, given circumstances. I don't have a laptop, and unlike IGN and others, PGC doesn't have the resources to buy them for all of us. I'm sure anyone with a laptop was updating from the very room we played in or the airport - I would. We went to the airport from the event, I had a later flight, drove home, started writing, turned it in for editing at 2:30 AM, and posted the article in the morning before getting ready for work.

    vuduMarch 02, 2006

    So ... am I wrong, or is Hunters only the second FPS available for DS? That seems odd. Given the nature of the genere and how easily it works on the system you'd think we'd be drowning in them.

    It's the third, though most people will never play Greg Hastings MAX'd Tournament Paintball. Actually, most people will never play Goldeneye: Rogue Agent either, so let's say Metroid is the first!

    As always, one successful game in a genre will encourage other companies to follow with similar games.

    IceColdMarch 02, 2006

    The rival radar thingy sounds great.. now at least if you play someone and enjoy but don't have their friend code, you can still play them later on..

    Share + Bookmark





    Metroid Prime: Hunters Box Art

    Genre Shooter
    Developer Nintendo Software Technology
    Players1 - 4
    Online1 - 4

    Worldwide Releases

    na: Metroid Prime: Hunters
    Release Mar 20, 2006
    PublisherNintendo
    RatingTeen
    jpn: Metroid Prime Hunters
    Release Jun 01, 2006
    PublisherNintendo
    RatingAll Ages
    eu: Metroid Prime: Hunters
    Release May 05, 2006
    PublisherNintendo
    Rating12+
    aus: Metroid Prime: Hunters
    Release May 2006
    PublisherNintendo
    RatingMature

    Related Content

    Got a news tip? Send it in!
    Advertisement
    Advertisement
    Advertisement