We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
DS

North America

Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker

by Ryan Winterhalter - July 1, 2006, 6:13 pm PDT
Total comments: 11

The Dragon Quest Monsters series returns on the DS.

Last updated: 07/01/2006 by Ryan Winterhalter



The Dragon Quest Monsters series is the handheld counterpart to the long running Dragon Quest series. Players are tasked with raising a corral of monsters and fighting with them ala Pokemon. The original Dragon Quest Monsters was released in late 1999 for the Game Boy Color under the series’ old name, Dragon Warrior Monsters. Two versions of Dragon Quest Monsters 2 were released for the Game Boy Color in 2001, but a GBA sequel never made it to American shores. Recently, Square-Enix revealed a new entry to the series for the Nintendo DS, Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker.

The story revolves around a young prince who uses his “Scout Ring” to capture monsters. The Prince is depicted in most of the screen shots released so far. Little else is known about the story.

While details on gameplay are sparse, it is known that the game will make use of the DS’s WiFi capabilities. Players will be able to upload their monster date and compete in “Joker’s GP” mode; there will even be national tournaments in Japan, although specific details are not yet known.

Joker’s graphics are quite impressive. Both the world and the battles are fully rendered in 3D. The game follows in the footsteps of Dragon Quest VIII for the PS2, using a similar cel-shaded art style.

Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker is scheduled for release in Japan sometime later this year, with no details on a stateside release available.

Talkback

Karl Castaneda #2July 01, 2006

Everyone give a warm welcome to Ryan, our new Man in Japan.

Hajimemashite. Watashi no namae wa Kaamain desu. Doozo Yuroshiku.

...and now that I've exhausted my entire memory of High School Japanese, I shall leave. Good day!

~Carmine M. Red
Kairon@aol.com

ruby_onixJuly 01, 2006

Hi Ryan!

I just finished watching the original Godzilla again.

CericJuly 02, 2006

Hello, Ryan and welcome to the PGC Crazyness.

(Original Godzilla Movie Rocks!)

ShyGuyJuly 02, 2006

Was this the Game that was originally called Egg Monster Hero? I remember seeing stuff about that way back at e3 04, but I don't remember it coming out.

nickmitchJuly 02, 2006

Bienvenu Ryan!

Bill AurionJuly 02, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: ShyGuy
Was this the Game that was originally called Egg Monster Hero? I remember seeing stuff about that way back at e3 04, but I don't remember it coming out.

Nope, that game will never come stateside... face-icon-small-frown.gif

IceColdJuly 02, 2006

Slime Mori Mori?

ruby_onixJuly 02, 2006

Quote

Originally posted by: IceCold
Slime Mori Mori?


Nope. That one's coming out in America in September as "Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime".

mantidorJuly 02, 2006

so is there already three DQ games for the DS?


ruby_onixJuly 03, 2006

Nope, Egg Monster Hero is part of one of Square's old franchises that has never come over, not one of Enix's Dragon Quest spinoffs.

The DS just has Rocket Slime and DQ Monsters, so far. The PSP is getting a prequel to DQ8.

Share + Bookmark





Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker Box Art

Genre RPG
Developer Square Enix

Worldwide Releases

na: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker
Release Nov 06, 2007
PublisherSquare Enix
RatingEveryone 10+
jpn: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker
Release Dec 28, 2006
PublisherSquare Enix
RatingAll Ages
eu: Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker
Release Mar 14, 2008
PublisherSquare Enix
Rating7+
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement