We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
WiiU

North America

Mega Man 7 Review Mini

by Bryan Rose - September 23, 2014, 12:07 pm PDT
Total comments: 10

7

Lost in translation.

The return of the Mega Man series briefly in the last decade was a fun foray into the world of old school platforming.With no hand holding allowed, many lives were lost. People liked that back then, I guess. Mega Man 7, the first to reach the SNES platform in 1995, holds true to the unforgiving nature of the previous games in the series. It follows the Mega Man formula down to a tee, but overall it seems to be lacking in places.

The one thing I noticed instantly was the graphical leap. Mega Man 7 looks fantastic, as each and every stage is bursting with color and detail. The overall theme of the stages themselves vary themselves nicely, such as the Cloud Man stage set high in the air or Shade Man’s stage that’s akin to a spooky graveyard that are pretty fun to traverse to. The music, which is a staple of the Mega Man series, is perfectly fine, but seems to be lacking compared to many of the rockin’ tunes found in previous Mega Man games. It’s more varied, but not as catchy or memorable as some of the music in the NES games.

There isn’t anything terribly wrong with Mega Man 7. The precise platforming that the original Mega Man series is renown for is featured here quite well, and it’s fun. It’s very difficult at times, but that is another hallmark that the series has always had. But to me, the Mega Man formula always seemed to be better suited for the NES. Take the series away from that system, and it just seems like something is missing.

Summary

Pros
  • Beautiful graphics
  • Fun gameplay
  • Varied settings
Cons
  • Difficulty level can be frustrating at times
  • Music not as catchy as previous titles
  • Something just seems to be missing overall in moving from NES to SNES

Talkback

MASBSeptember 23, 2014

A Mega Man review not done by Zach Miller? Zounds! You have to go back 3 years before you find another example of that (Andy Goergen's review of Mega Man: Dr Wily's Revenge) and another 3 years before that (Mega Man: Star Force 2 by Neal).

Perfectly good reason for that--I don't like Mega Man 7. Neal asked if I wanted to review it, and I said "no man, I hate MM7." Compared to the X games and even most of the NES games, MM7 is unbearably slow.

Luigi DudeSeptember 24, 2014

Quote from: Halbred

Perfectly good reason for that--I don't like Mega Man 7. Neal asked if I wanted to review it, and I said "no man, I hate MM7." Compared to the X games and even most of the NES games, MM7 is unbearably slow.

The problem with MM7 and 8 is because the X series was the one with the fast paced action at the time, Capcom intentionally made the newer classic Mega Man games much slower to create a bigger difference between both series.  X for the older fans while 7/8 would be more for kids.

Which I still find really funny since the final boss of MM7 is one of the hardest bosses in any Mega Man series because of how cheap Wily's final form is.  Way to fail guys, sacrifice the game design to appeal more to kids but then make it too hard for them while providing something that isn't as thrilling to the older fans either.

pokepal148Spencer Johnson, Contributing WriterSeptember 24, 2014

Quote from: Halbred

Perfectly good reason for that--I don't like Mega Man 7. Neal asked if I wanted to review it, and I said "no man, I hate MM7." Compared to the X games and even most of the NES games, MM7 is unbearably slow.

So when can we expect your review of Mega Man 8 :smug:

SundoulosSeptember 24, 2014

One of the biggest missed opportunities in this game was the Robot Museum.  I remember that seeing a few of the old Robot Masters drawn in glorious 16-bit sprites really piqued my interest, but the stage over all too quickly. The game teases you by having you walk through this section only to see Wily quickly steal Gutsman and have you fight some lame clown robot.  (Of course you do fight him later in Wily's Castle).  I wish that the museum could have been used as sort of a multi-stage area like Wily's castle with more versions of old Robot Masters as bosses.   

The game itself is decent enough and can be pretty difficult in places, but it just seems poorer when compared to the X series. 

For those of you who don't like the aesthetic of this particular verison of Mega Man, the fan-made Rockman 7 Famicom 8-bit demake is actually well-done and worth looking up.

Quote from: pokepal148

Quote from: Halbred

Perfectly good reason for that--I don't like Mega Man 7. Neal asked if I wanted to review it, and I said "no man, I hate MM7." Compared to the X games and even most of the NES games, MM7 is unbearably slow.

So when can we expect your review of Mega Man 8 :smug:

What's weird is that, for all its problems (and there are MANY), I like MM8 more than MM7. Maybe it's the aesthetic. The cutscenes are atrocious, though. And I have my doubts it will ever come to Wii U VC--the game was never originally released on a Nintendo console. We probably won't get MMX4-6, either. Which is fine, because they're awful.

Mop it upSeptember 27, 2014

Mega Man 7 > Mega Man X

*runs*

X has been on my "to play" list for a while but it hasn't happened yet. I think at this point i'm waiting for a nice sale because I'm frugal.


also: Giving Mega Man 7 a 7 was not intentional. I promise!

Luigi DudeSeptember 28, 2014

Quote from: Br26

X has been on my "to play" list for a while but it hasn't happened yet. I think at this point i'm waiting for a nice sale because I'm frugal.

You do know there was a sale on both X1 and X2 on the eShop a few weeks ago?  Should have gotten them then because it's going to be a while before that happens again.  Unless they do another one when the Wii U version of Smash Bros is about to be released.  But at that time they probably put different Mega Man games on sale instead.

PhilPhillip Stortzum, November 09, 2014

I really enjoyed Mega Man 7. Kicking myself for never buying a cartridge, despite having rented it from Blockbuster many times as a kid. It's worth A LOT even in loose cartridge form.

Anyway, I would argue that-- wait. Someone said Mega Man X4 was awful?!!! *scoff* It's one of the best in the series.

Share + Bookmark





Genre Action
Developer Capcom
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: Mega Man 7
Release Sep 12, 2014
PublisherCapcom
RatingEveryone
jpn: Rockman 7: Shukumei no Taiketsu!
Release Aug 06, 2014
PublisherCapcom
RatingAll Ages
eu: Mega Man 7
Release Nov 06, 2014
PublisherCapcom
Rating7+
aus: Mega Man 7
Release Nov 06, 2014
PublisherCapcom
RatingParental Guidance

Related Content

Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement