We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
DS

North America

Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales

by Ryan Winterhalter - August 10, 2006, 11:27 pm PDT
Total comments: 7

The chocobos have yet another adventure in The Chocobo and the Magic Picture Book.

Last updated: 08/11/2006 by Ryan Winterhalter



Square has spun off the Final Fantasy chocobos into racing games and dungeon crawls. Recently announced in Japan, The Chocobo and the Magic Picture Book for the Nintendo DS is yet another spin off, featuring the loveable workhorses of the Final Fantasy games.

The Magic Picture Book begins when the Black Mage Kuroma brings a picture book into the village. When the book is opened it awakens the demon Bebuzu, who is still trapped in the book.. In order to resurrect and free himself from his prison, Bebuzu begins to suck chocobo after chocobo into the book. Realizing the danger, one of them avoids capture and, along with his companion, set out to thwart the evil that’s plaguing the land.

In order to save the world from the great demon you’ll have to engage in card games, as that’s what Magic Picture Book’s battle system revolves around. Each of these cards depicts a spell or an item. Even traditional Final Fantasy summons like Shiva have cards. You’ll gain more cards by defeating more enemies.

Mini-games abound in The Magic Picture Book. The stylus gets a lot of use in these games. The character art used for these mini-games looks like it was inspired by older games in the series. 8-bit versions of classic Final Fantasy I characters like White Mage and Fighter make appearances.

No details on a release date or a North American version have been given.

Talkback

CericAugust 11, 2006

Quote

In order to save the world from the great demon you’ll have to engage in card games,


I'll thank I'll leave the world to the Demon. NO thank you cards. I was getting excited about this game until that point.

PryopizmStan Ferguson, Staff AlumnusAugust 11, 2006

No more card games!!!!

Bill AurionAugust 11, 2006

CARDS!? My interest in this just flew off a cliff into a tar pit...

Smash_BrotherAugust 11, 2006

Meh, more support for Nintendo hardware by Square = good.

This game wouldn't be something I'd buy, but I can tell you this: drumming up (more) support in Japan directly results in the production of games I WILL buy later on so, hey, it's all good news as far as I'm concerned.

CericAugust 11, 2006

Your right... If we lace each cartridge with Cyanide then maybe when the userbase dies off they'll stop ruining potentially good games with card combat. I don't need those gamers. I say let a card game be a card game and an adventure/rpg/whatever other genre they force cards into be what it is suppose to be. Though I'll still read the review here and if it seems that the game actually does the card thing right and everything else is perfect then I might consider it, only because I like Baten Kaitos.

NephilimAugust 11, 2006

need a tripetriad wifi ds game
I hate the fact square like tetramaster more, since it was in 9 and then 11

Infernal MonkeyAugust 11, 2006

Way to ruin a really good looking game, Square!

Share + Bookmark





Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales Box Art

Genre Adventure
Developer Square Enix
Players1 - 4
Online1 - 4

Worldwide Releases

na: Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales
Release Apr 03, 2007
PublisherSquare Enix
RatingEveryone
jpn: Chocobo to Mahou no Ehon
Release Dec 14, 2006
PublisherSquare Enix
RatingAll Ages
eu: Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales
Release May 25, 2007
PublisherSquare Enix
Rating3+
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement