Author Topic: When you play VC games on your HD TV, do you...  (Read 9565 times)

Offline Pale

• Staff Layton Hat Thief
  • Score: 4
    • View Profile
    • PaleHour
When you play VC games on your HD TV, do you...
« on: January 17, 2008, 02:31:59 AM »
...switch your TV to 4:3 pillar box mode?

So I'm relatively new to the HD TV scene.  Up to this point I had always let my Wii stretch out my VC games like crazy.  I'm usually TOTALLY against stretching images, but when you are working with sprites and old school games that don't feature proportional characters anyway, it doesn't really bother me as much.

I recently started playing Prime 2, which features a progressive scan mode but not a wide screen mode.  After about 2 hours worth of seeing a short, squatty Samus in cut scenes, I started switching my TV over to 4:3.

Now I know there was a bit of an uproar at Wii launch about VC games not playing in their native aspect ratio.  Do any of you have a good reason for not simply changing the setting on your TV?  It works great for me in Prime 2.
:: I was an active staffer forever ago, or was it yesterday. Time is an anomaly. Father of two boys.
---------------------
:: Grouvee :: Instagram

Offline nitsu niflheim

• Eye-Candy Andy
  • Score: 5
    • View Profile
RE: When you play VC games on your HD TV, do you...
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2008, 03:32:58 AM »
I will if the game looks too stretchy and annoys me.  
Currently Reading:  Odd Apocalypse ~ Dean Koontz
Currently Watching:  ?

Offline ShyGuy

• Fight Me!
  • Score: -9660
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2008, 03:59:20 AM »
Generally stretch, but sometimes I will switch back

Offline NeoThunder

• Score: -3
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2008, 05:08:07 AM »
well, I don't have the option on my tv downstairs since you can't chance the resolution if it running in progressive scan.