Wii

North America

A Boy and His Blob

by Neal Ronaghan - June 6, 2009, 7:05 pm PDT
Total comments: 12

Majesco and WayForward's upcoming game will feature 80 levels and numerous blob forms when it hits this fall. Updated with trailer.

WayForward's A Boy and His Blob was on display at E3 and more information was uncovered about the October release. It contains 40 levels and 40 unlockable challenge levels. The challenge levels are unlocked by collecting three hidden treasure chests in each level.

The game's basic plot is about a boy and his blob. The boy finds the alien blob and the two embark on a quest that begins on Earth and ends up on Blobonia. They go through 8 different environments ranging from forests and caves to swamps and factories.

The boy dies in one hit, but the game has a forgiving respawn system. However, the blob is a force to be reckoned with. The boy can transform his blob by feeding him jellybeans of six different colors that transform the blob into many different forms with witty names, such as the licorice ladder, the hippity hop, and the coconut coconut. All of these forms aid the two in the puzzles they face on their quest.

Each jellybean transforms the blob differently in each level and they can use whatever jellybeans they have access to as much as they want. The challenge levels generally will only have one color jellybean per level, which makes them much more difficult.

A Boy and His Blob is on tap for an October 2009 release.

Talkback

famicomplicatedJames Charlton, Staff AlumnusJune 07, 2009

This game looks amazing, can't wait!

Beautiful hand drawn animation, adorable characters and fantastic music.

I just hope it doesn't end too quickly....I hope the 40 challenge levels are new levels or different enough to make it worthwhile going through them again.

Yea, after playing it, it is now one of my most anticipated fall games.

The 40 challenge levels might be similar to the original levels, but with only one blob power, so hopefully that'll change it up enough.

DAaaMan64June 07, 2009

wow @_@ that was pretty nice lookin'

LuigiHannJune 07, 2009

That looks fantastic

KDR_11kJune 07, 2009

Put it on the list of "third party games with great first impressions" I threw at Ian...

Flames_of_chaosLukasz Balicki, Staff AlumnusJune 07, 2009

I seriously think that this is one of the best looking games on any platform.

broodwarsJune 07, 2009

This is going to be a must-buy this Fall.  The art design is just fantastic (very Miyazaki-esque), the music (if that's an original composition for the trailer) is very good, and the gameplay looks quite solid.  My only complaint is that I can see it getting really annoying really fast to keep hearing that particularly loud yell/whistle from the boy whenever you want to interact with the Blob.

CalibanJune 08, 2009

I am mesmerized.

ThePermJune 08, 2009

the original boy and his blob was pretty fun, i played it for about a half hour on an emulator, and was just amazed at how cool the gameplay was. The new one looks very good.

NovaQJune 08, 2009

This game is just beautiful. I'm looking forward to it more and more.

I agree with other posters that have commented on how irritating the Boy's calls to his blob get. It's not as bad in this trailer, but other gameplay videos show how frequently you hear him call. Maybe Way Forward could simply have the Boy snap his fingers instead of yell, or get many more (or simply a less grating) voice samples from the boy's voice actor. At any rate, I have a feeling Way Forward will adjust this before the game is released.

Quote from: NovaQ

This game is just beautiful. I'm looking forward to it more and more.

I agree with other posters that have commented on how irritating the Boy's calls to his blob get. It's not as bad in this trailer, but other gameplay videos show how frequently you hear him call. Maybe Way Forward could simply have the Boy snap his fingers instead of yell, or get many more (or simply a less grating) voice samples from the boy's voice actor. At any rate, I have a feeling Way Forward will adjust this before the game is released.

The Boy does a variety of calls, but the "Blooooooooooob!" call stands out the most. I found it to be a mixture of annoying and charming.

KDR_11kJune 08, 2009

The Maw's calls for the titular Maw were more subdued I think, didn't stand out as much and thus didn't annoy much either.

Share + Bookmark





A Boy and His Blob Box Art

Genre Adventure
Developer WayForward Technologies
Controllers

Worldwide Releases

na: A Boy and His Blob
Release Oct 13, 2009
PublisherMajesco
RatingEveryone
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement