We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.

John Lennon Songs Hitting Rock Band Music Store

by Neal Ronaghan - October 25, 2010, 10:54 am PDT
Total comments: 1

Rock Band 3 players will be able to download the rest of John Lennon's Imagine album soon.

Harmonix announced today that the entirety of John Lennon's Imagine album will be one of the first albums available as downloadable content for Rock Band 3.

The headline track of the album, "Imagine," is already included on the disc. There are nine other tracks on the album, including "Jealous Guy" and "Gimme Some Truth." The full track listing is below.

  • "Crippled Inside"

  • "Jealous Guy"

  • "It's So Hard"

  • "I Don't Wanna Be a Soldier Mama"

  • "Gimme Some Truth"

  • "Oh My Love"

  • "How Do You Sleep?"

  • "How?"

  • "Oh Yoko!"

John Lennon's Legendary Imagine Album Among the First of Rock Band 3 Downloadable Content

John Lennon, The Doors, Billy Joel, and Bon Jovi headline epic roster of upcoming Rock Band 3 downloadable songs.

Cambridge, MA – Oct. 25, 2010 – Raising the bar once again for interactive music games with the addition of groundbreaking new features that include keyboards, vocal harmonies and Rock Band Pro Mode, Harmonix Music Systems Inc., the world’s premier music video game developer, and MTV Games, a part of Viacom’s MTV Networks (NYSE: VIA, VIA.B), today proudly announced that Imagine, the timeless album from John Lennon, will be among the first albums released as Rock Band™ 3 downloadable content.

"The songs on John Lennon's Imagine run the gamut from beautiful piano-driven ballads like ‘Jealous Guy’ to all-out guitar rockers like ‘Gimme Some Truth’,” said Paul DeGooyer, senior vice president of electronic games, music and programming for MTV Networks. "It's an incredible musical statement, and a real workout on keyboard, guitar and vocals in Rock Band 3. We're very excited to confirm it as one of the first downloads for our new game, and to help our fans celebrate John's 70th birthday with its release."

As previously announced, The Doors will kick off Rock Band 3 downloadable content Oct. 22, but Harmonix and MTV Games have quite a line-up to follow that debut. Adding to an already impressive catalog of more than 2,000* songs available on the Rock Band platform, including music from John Lennon, The Doors, Bon Jovi and Billy Joel will also be among the first available for download through the Rock Band 3 Music Store after the game launches Oct. 26 in the United States and Oct. 29 in the rest of the world.

In addition, fans that purchase Rock Band 3 and play online during the first week the game is available (Oct. 26 – Nov. 1) can download a free three-pack of songs from The Doors that feature Pro Guitar and Pro Bass upgrades. The free pack, which is available only through the Rock Band 3 in-game Music Store, includes “Light My Fire,” “Riders on the Storm” and “Touch Me,” and incorporates five-button guitar and bass, Drums, Pro Drums and Keys, Pro Keys and harmonies, where applicable, as well as a free expansion that will add Pro Guitar and Pro Bass parts. A nine-pack of songs from The Doors will also be available for download that week. This includes some of the classic rockers’ most-loved songs, like “Hello, I Love You,” “L.A. Woman,” “Love Her Madly” and “Roadhouse Blues,” all featuring Drums, Pro Drums, five-button guitar and bass parts and, where applicable, harmonies and Keys/Pro Keys parts.

In the coming weeks, packs of some of the greatest hits from both Billy Joel and Bon Jovi will also be added to the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content. Be sure to stay tuned to RockBand.com for more information.

To date, Rock Band fans have downloaded more than 75 million songs from the Rock Band Music Store, and the Rock Band Network Music Store. With more than 2,000* tracks available in the Rock Band platform, Harmonix and MTV Games stand next to none as the leading providers of downloadable content for rhythm video games. Rock Band pioneered offering content in a variety of ways, through on-disc game play, game export, downloadable content and the Rock Band Network. The Rock Band platform allows fans to interact with their favorite music in a unique and hands-on way, and also gives artists the ability to reach fans through a whole new channel.

Highly anticipated this holiday season, Rock Band 3 delivers the deepest Rock Band experience yet with an incredible 83-song setlist and the addition of keyboards, vocal harmonies and the all-new Pro Mode. The game will be available Oct. 26, in North America and Oct. 29 in the rest of world for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system, Nintendo Wii™ and Nintendo DS™.

Developed by Harmonix, published by MTV Games and distributed by Electronic Arts Inc. (NASDAQ: ERTS), Rock Band 3 will be compatible with all Rock Band™ and The Beatles™: Rock Band™ peripherals, as well as most Guitar Hero® and other authorized third-party music video game peripherals and microphones. Pro Mode requires Rock Band Pro-compatible instrument controllers.  Mad Catz is the official, licensed peripheral manufacturer and distributor for Rock Band 3 game controllers.  Rock Band Pro Guitar mode is compatible with the Rock Band 3 Fender™ Mustang™ PRO-Guitar™ Controller and the Rock Band 3 Squier® by Fender Stratocaster® Guitar Controller (manufactured and distributed by Fender). Find more information on how to pre-order Rock Band 3 today here.


MorariOctober 26, 2010

Now we need Plastic Ono Band as well... Working Class Hero FTW!

Got a news tip? Send it in!