DS

North America

Kirby Squeak Squad

by Aaron Kaluszka - May 25, 2006, 8:56 am PDT
Total comments: 8

One of the most unique ideas for the second screen yet.

Kirby is back, this time on the Nintendo DS. In one of the more bizarre uses for the second screen, Kirby DS uses the touch screen to display the interior of Kirby’s stomach! The inside of Kirby’s stomach is full of stars, as you might expect for that black hole of a digestive system. When Kirby swallows enemies and items, they appear briefly on the lower screen and are immediately vaporized. However, items found in bubbles as well as treasure chests are not absorbed by Kirby’s stomach, and instead remain on the touch screen for future interaction. Popping the bubbles allows the power to be absorbed and Kirby will immediately transform. Interestingly, powers can also be mixed, in a similar manner to Kirby’s Adventure, resulting in a random power. Food items can also be combined into a Maxim Tomato. Treasure chests inhaled by Kirby will remain in his stomach until the end of the level, after which the contents will be unlocked.

Other than the inclusion of his stomach, Kirby DS looks and plays much like the Game Boy Advance versions of Kirby, which isn’t a bad thing. The backgrounds are gorgeous and the characters retain their Kirby charm. At least one power not seen recently makes its return in this game, Ninja. While the game doesn’t even have a name yet, the demo was quite polished and fun, and it will be interesting to see how Kirby’s stomach will come into play when the game is released.

Talkback

RocketDarknessMay 25, 2006

Ninjutsu was in Kirby Super Star. I think it was called ninja, but there's a good chance it's the same ability.

KnowsNothingMay 25, 2006

I still want to know if this will be level-based or exploration based (like Amazing Mirror). I can't decide which I like better though...I liked the freedom of Amazing Mirror, but I found the map system confusing and the level design frustrating....

Quote

Originally posted by: RocketDarkness
Ninjutsu was in Kirby Super Star. I think it was called ninja, but there's a good chance it's the same ability.


You're right, except this time he can throw shurikens.

Hostile CreationMay 25, 2006

Agreed, KN, though I got used to the map system before too long.

I hope they expand the possibilities with the stomach more. It sounds great already, and I love Kirby platformers, but I think it has other potential. It'll be interesting to see how the game turns out, looking forward to it face-icon-small-smile.gif

RocketDarknessMay 26, 2006

He was able to throw the shurikens in KSS, if I'm not mistaken. He had the quick slash with short range, and the ability to throw ninjas stars as well.

I think he threw knives in Kirby Super Star, but I suppose I could slightly modify the article.

At least in the demo, it was level-based. No Metroid-style Kirby.

SvevanEvan Burchfield, Staff AlumnusMay 28, 2006

TYP, your new avatar makes you look thirteen years old, which is odd since in person you look closer to thirty.

edit: uh....kirby.

Share + Bookmark





Kirby Mouse Attack Box Art

Genre Action
Developer Nintendo
Players1 - 4
Controllers

Worldwide Releases

na: Kirby Squeak Squad
Release Dec 06, 2006
PublisherNintendo
RatingEveryone
jpn: Hoshi no Kirby: Sanjou! Dorotche Dan
Release Nov 02, 2006
PublisherNintendo
RatingAll Ages
eu: Kirby Mouse Attack
Release Jun 22, 2007
PublisherNintendo
Rating3+
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement