We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
3DS

North America

Paper Mario: Sticker Star

by Billy Berghammer - August 31, 2012, 7:56 pm PDT
Total comments: 17

This adventure is showing some real depth.

Although Nintendo showed a demo of Paper Mario: Sticker Star during their E3 3DS Software Showcase, the game wasn’t playable to attendees. During PAX Prime 2012, while on the show floor the game was being demonstrated once again to the public, I was taken behind closed doors to get my hands on Mario’s latest paper adventure. Though the demo I got to play was just a portion of what Nintendo showed during the Software Showcase, I did notice a few things in my brief play through.

There’s an overworld map very much like what players are used to from Mario Bros. 3 and the New Super Mario Bros. series. While I wasn’t told how many areas or different environments there will be, they did have the trademark 1-4, 2-3 type naming convention. Visually, everything has a nice diorama look to it, but the 3D effect on the 3DS XL I played with felt a bit off during my demo so I turned it off.

Stickers can be found everywhere in the world and are used for everything: solving puzzles, getting into new areas, and most importantly, combat. While Super Paper Mario ditched the turn based combat, in Paper Mario: Sticker Star it's back and your moves and actions are controlled by choosing stickers from your sticker book. Jumps, line jumps (jumping down a line of enemies), shells and flower powers are just some of the stickers you’ll pick up and utilize in battle. After you choose the sticker attack you want, you’re asked to confirm your choice of attack, and then the action battle sequence begins. There’s a break between choosing the sticker and the attack beginning, which is a good thing. Just like in previous turn-based Paper Mario titles, after the attack is initiated you can increase the intensity of your attack and block enemy attacks by timing your button presses. It all feels familiar and great, and while we've only seen some stock Mario moves, I’m curious to see what new elements they decide to drop into the mix.

Stickers are also used to solve puzzles, and you’ll encounter different real-world things in your adventures, such as an electric fan. By "stickerizing" these items, or turning them into stickers, you can use them to solve puzzles. For example, by using a giant electric fan to blow enough wind to power a windmill, you can enter new areas. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see any new uses of "stickerizing" but I get the feeling that it will be one of the main ways of progressing through the game.

Sadly, after turning on the fan and powering up the windmill and going inside (which included a number puzzle that I didn’t have the answer for), the demo was over. Just a few battles, a puzzle solved and kaput; an all too brief taste of Paper Mario: Sticker Star and I’m hungry for more.

Talkback

powerclaw1August 31, 2012

Sounds good, can't wait! Also, the official boxart has now been revealed, so you don't need the fanmade one anymore.

house3136August 31, 2012

It’s nice to see some impressions for, arguably, this winter’s most anticipated 3DS game given by Mr. Berghammer. This is out of context and belated; but I just wanted to say thanks for reading my letter personally on RFN: 297 and the discussion that ensued those weeks back. I’m privileged to participate in such spirited dialectic. And of course, thank you to everyone at RFN, Famicast, and Connectivity, which also help to keep me sane for another week, as well.
That aside, I’m holding my breath, and my wallet, for a white 3DS XL- Paper Mario bundle to come state-side this holiday, reminiscent of the SM3DL bundle last year. Either way, I’ll probably be buying this game and Wii U within a week of each other. The wait is unfortunate; however, I’m happy enjoying the dwindling days of summer while I can.

RasAugust 31, 2012

This was the reason I bought my 3DS to begin with.  I watched an analysis video on YT last night and saw some things I don't remember, like the Yosphinx.  It looks good.

Evan_BSeptember 01, 2012

Did anyone notice BOWSER JR. in the official boxart?!

This shall be glorious.

I don't have a good feeling about this game.

I have a good feeling about this game.

oohhboyHong Hang Ho, Staff AlumnusSeptember 01, 2012

I am very happy that they brought back the turn based combat. Super Paper Mario(Wii) was a very shallow game. Without the combat mechanics it became a subpar Mario platformer with a slight twist and annoying character switching. It didnt help that the villian, the writing and the environment just weren't up to par with The Thousand Year Door. I haven't finished SPM yet, but it has been a has been very Bleck experience.

Wait a minute, what is Billy doing back here?

PogueSquadronSeptember 01, 2012

Billy B? That's super cool!

Killer_Man_JaroTom Malina, Associate Editor (Europe)September 02, 2012

Weird for a Paper Mario to take up the traditional world map structure with levels numbered 1-1, 1-2 etc. I could have sworn there was footage in this year's E3 trailer that showed Mario in a hub town sort of environment with shops and stuff, like all the others in the series.

tyrian3September 02, 2012

One of the main reasons I got a 3DS. I can't wait. If it's half as good as TYD on gamecube it's still gonna be awesome!

ThePermSeptember 02, 2012

Woah!

RasSeptember 02, 2012

You did see Mario in a hub-style town.  Maybe the world structure is similar to Zelda II.

PGC-Agent CooperBilly Berghammer, FounderSeptember 03, 2012

Hey all! Glad you liked the brief impressions, and sorry they're so short. I really wish Nintendo had more to play. As why I wrote this for NWR, Neal needed some help with PAX coverage, and since I was going I thought it would be fun to help. Got one more preview coming later today, but overall there wasn't too much new stuff at PAX that hasn't been reported before or that I felt qualified to cover.

Billy will always be the founder.

Occasionally, he'll be a contributing writer.

But mostly, he's just the dude that we all look at and go "hey man. Thanks!"

OblivionSeptember 03, 2012

He created NWR? Woah, awesome.

oohhboyHong Hang Ho, Staff AlumnusSeptember 03, 2012

He is the Eternal Founder.

tendoboy1984September 03, 2012

I love that shading!

Share + Bookmark





3DS

Game Profile

Paper Mario: Sticker Star Box Art

Genre
Developer Intelligent Systems
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Release Nov 11, 2012
PublisherNintendo
RatingEveryone
jpn: Paper Mario: Super Seal
Release Dec 06, 2012
PublisherNintendo
RatingAll Ages
eu: Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Release Dec 07, 2012
PublisherNintendo
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement