Author Topic: PS3 hardware article (hail all techies)  (Read 4344 times)

Offline Shorty McNostril

• Blue text is gone :(
  • Score: 4
    • View Profile
PS3 hardware article (hail all techies)
« on: July 14, 2006, 04:42:45 AM »
I found this article trying to explain ps3 hardware.

Because of the fact im not technically minded and therefore cannot understand this i thought i would post a link here and see what those of a "higher education" can make of it.

Link

Do you think its a fair analysis or a fanboys wishful thinking?

Edit: fixing link

Offline nitsu niflheim

• Eye-Candy Andy
  • Score: 5
    • View Profile
RE:PS3 hardware article (hail all techies)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2006, 04:47:17 AM »
Corrected Link =)

Your link was messed up, I fixed it for you!
Currently Reading:  Odd Apocalypse ~ Dean Koontz
Currently Watching:  ?

Offline KDR_11k

• boring person
  • Score: 28
    • View Profile
RE: PS3 hardware article (hail all techies)
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2006, 06:34:35 AM »
No idea if its fair but it goes into the same general direction as what we've known before (good for vector ops, bad for everything else). The writer suggests that many algorithms could be altrered to work as vector problems but that can get very complex so you'd need good programmers for that (not just programmers, computer scientists. Maybe you're even better off with hiring a mathematician but then it'll get really ugly). The developer will also have to handle many things manually that were previously automated like cache behaviour and such. This will increase complexity and while it will make the system state more predictable it will also greatly increase the bug count in the software.