Author Topic: Theories on how Wii was chosen  (Read 1381 times)

Offline thepoga

• Score: 0
    • View Profile
Theories on how Wii was chosen
« on: April 30, 2006, 07:27:10 PM »
I remember awhile back they had this "What's your favorite Star Wars game" poll on a website. The game that won was the joke title, Jar-Jar Binks: Greatest Jedi of Them All. That's pretty much how Wii was chosen. They chose the joke answer.

So yeah, make your own little theories. Maybe this should belong in Ty's Funhouse, but oh well! (note: Not a serious discussion thread)

Offline IceCold

• I love you Vanilla Ice!
  • Score: 2
    • View Profile
RE:Theories on how Wii was chosen
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2006, 07:40:45 PM »
Double UI... user interface?

Shutup
"I used to sell furniture for a living. The trouble was, it was my own."
---------------------------------------------
"If your parents never had children, chances are you won't either."
----------------------------
"If it weren't for electricity we'd all be watching television by the candlelig

Offline GoldenPhoenix

• Now it's a party!
  • Score: 42
    • View Profile
RE:Theories on how Wii was chosen
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2006, 08:34:18 PM »
Oh I dunno, maybe because it leaves alot of room for name manipulation to catch someone's attention within commercials. It is also easy on the eyes and simple (though the sound will take awhile to get used to).
Switch Friend Code: SW-4185-3173-1144

Offline mantidor

• Score: 4
    • View Profile
RE: Theories on how Wii was chosen
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2006, 08:39:29 PM »
haha

I now relate the name with GUI, graphic user interface, or I keep confusing it with "Wifi", "WWII" and "will" all the damn time.

In my view after having learned to tolerate it, Ive come to the conclusion that the name was chosen based on the North American market.