We store cookies, you can get more info from our privacy policy.
Wii

North America

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

by Neal Ronaghan - June 7, 2011, 1:13 pm EDT
Total comments: 12

I rode a bird. Then I met Zelda.

The Zelda demo this year has a bird-riding section, a dungeon, and a boss fight. There's also a 10-minute time limit. For my first experience with the game at E3 2011, I rode a bird and screwed around in the dungeon for a bit.

The bird riding uses the MotionPlus a lot, as you tilt it subtly to steer the bird, and shake it from side-to-side to flap the bird's wings and gain altitude. The A button charges, and the B button slows down. The goal of the segment was to capture a bird twice. The first time, it was easy, as you just had to maneuver behind and above the bird and catch it. The second time, the jerks around the bird threw eggs at you. It wasn't too difficult either time, but controls felt nice and were intuitive and fun.

The dungeon shows off some weapons we saw last year, including the Bow, Slingshot, Bombs, and that flying bug. They all control the same as I remember the game last year at E3 2010. I was a bit stumped by the dungeon, though, as I couldn't find a key and the Nintendo reps present were either clueless or didn't want to tell me. Before I got a chance to figure it out, the demo ended.

However, bird riding was fun, and I hope it has a bigger exploration part in the final game, coming this year. It should be noted the reward for catching the bird is to meet with Zelda, who doesn't appear to be a princess at this point of the game. She's just a hot girl all the dudes want to impress. Put that in your story-loving pipe and smoke it, Zelda fans. We'll get more details on the title, the story, and the gameplay as soon as we can.

Talkback

CericJune 07, 2011

Valley Girl Zelda Doll Confirmed.  Link New Ken.

mr_lakituJune 07, 2011

The graphics were insanely improved on what I saw from last year. Kinda water colour lovleyness :) Roll on Dec.

AVJune 07, 2011

Did Skyward sword get its own trailer? I only noticed pieces of footage in the Zelda 25th anniversary video.


WHy birds? Why not dragons ? Come on !!!

ShyGuyJune 07, 2011

Sounds like the dungeon difficulty is HARDCORE

CaterkillerMatthew Osborne, Contributing WriterJune 08, 2011

Quote from: Mr.

Did Skyward sword get its own trailer? I only noticed pieces of footage in the Zelda 25th anniversary video.


WHy birds? Why not dragons ? Come on !!!

I couldn't disagree more, birds FTW! But I bet Dragon's will be on the enemy side with a possibility of upgrading your flying animal to something even grander by the end.

StogiJune 08, 2011

Link flying a bird seems so much more...Legendary.

This is easily the most exciting game to come out this year, Batman be damned. I can't wait for more impressions (particularly from this site). I'd really like to hear you ask the Nintendo Reps about the pacing of the game; as in, are dungeons and exploring more blurred than before or are their puzzles outside of dungeons?

CericJune 08, 2011

Quote from: The

Link flying a bird seems so much more...Legendary.

This is easily the most exciting game to come out this year, Batman be damned. I can't wait for more impressions (particularly from this site). I'd really like to hear you ask the Nintendo Reps about the pacing of the game; as in, are dungeons and exploring more blurred than before or are their puzzles outside of dungeons?

Walking around...
Hey why is their a Stalfos Knight Chasing me and where did that Door come from?
Is that Dungeon Name text?

CaterkillerMatthew Osborne, Contributing WriterJune 08, 2011

@ Unagi, the way the rep on gametrailers describes it is that the whole game is like one big dungeon and there is tons of stuff to do everywhere.

With the interview statements that came long before e3 about lots of content everywhere in the game plus this guys enthusiasm I believe it. That rep seemed more like a regualr fan than a nintendo worker.

DonkeyBilly KongJune 09, 2011

The style is amazing.  I hope the rest of the game pans out well too.

SixthAngelJune 10, 2011

I don't think I've ever been so hyped for a game.  The style is amazing and finally the motion plus controls.

SilverQuilavaJune 22, 2011

hehe, flying system is the same as the one off of Twilight Princess when you were controlling the giant twilit bird as a wolf at the river.

ThePermJune 25, 2011

funny the front page has 2 cliché anime person flying a bird creature poses, i think avatar has the same framing

Share + Bookmark





The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Box Art

Genre Adventure
Developer Nintendo
Players1

Worldwide Releases

na: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
Release Nov 20, 2011
PublisherNintendo
RatingEveryone 10+
jpn: Zelda no Densetsu: Skyward Sword
Release Nov 23, 2011
PublisherNintendo
RatingAll Ages
eu: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
Release Nov 18, 2011
PublisherNintendo
Rating12+
aus: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
Release Nov 24, 2011
PublisherNintendo
RatingMature
kor: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
Release Nov 24, 2011
PublisherNintendo
Got a news tip? Send it in!
Advertisement
Advertisement