Author Topic: Gamers, Help me in my class... Please take my quick questionaire!  (Read 7757 times)

Offline spudicus

• Score: 0
    • View Profile
Gamers, Obvioulsy since your here you play games, and I am looking for some field data for my SOCI 201 class. I am studying, " Does violence in todays games affect children". I am guessing you are mostly all around the age of majority, so use your past experinces. Please answer this honestly and thoughtfully.
1. Did you play violent games as a child?
2. Did those games affect your life, beliefs, or desesenitize you?
3. Do violent games these days desensetize or corrupt children?
Thanks for your time and answers.
I am spudicus!

Offline Mario

• IWATA BOAT!?
  • Score: 8
    • View Profile
Gamers, Help me in my class... Please take my quick questionaire!
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2003, 10:24:21 PM »
1. Yes
2. No
3. Possibly, but very rarely i'd assume.  

Offline Termin8Anakin

• Auuuu =\
  • Score: 2
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2003, 11:59:50 PM »
1. Yes, only Wolfenstein. I've only played Doom II once.

2. No. Wolfenstien was only ever a distraction from swimming, cricket and school. I played Dig Dug, Space Invaders and Asteroids more than Wolfenstein. It's affected my life, though, only in that they nutured my love of games and led me to Nintendo.

3. I think that yes, violent games do corrupt SOME children in a way. Games are getting realistic, and are stored on large mediums. Therefore, developers can depict very realistic scenes of violence and gore (RE, ED and GTA3). I think that kids nowadays begin to see the realities of life at too early an age, and that would make them expect more from their games than is necessary.
Comin at ya with High Level Course Language and Violence

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2003, 04:42:43 PM »
1)  Yes.  I'll name some: Doom, Platoon, Quake, Mortal Kombat (with the "extra blood" code in.....oooh, I'm a rebel. )probally all violent games, I've played them.