Author Topic: Billy Berghammer Retires From Planet GameCube.com  (Read 24378 times)

Offline NewsBot

• News Posting Robot
  • Score: 0
    • View Profile
Billy Berghammer Retires From Planet GameCube.com
« on: April 17, 2003, 08:07:27 PM »
That's right folks, I'm outta here, and this is my last post.  Get the full story right here.

Attention Planet GameCube Community,

I’m officially announcing that today, April 18th,  2003, will be my last day with Planet GameCube.com.

While I’ve been running Planet GameCube for 4 years, it’s  been rather difficult to make a decent living.  I was recently offered a job to  work for Game Informer Magazine, and I have decided it’s a good time to pass the  torch on to someone else at Planet GameCube and take my career to the next  stage.

I went to college thinking I would go into psychology.  I  ended up graduating with a degree in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in  English.  At that time I was hardcore (note: music nerd) into alternative music  and really interested in radio, so I thought that would be fun.  I ended up  living a full career in radio.  I started this site in between radio jobs, but I  never would have imagined it would have led me into my new career.  It’s funny  how life turns out sometimes.

An ex-girlfriend of mine told me that this site would amount to nothing.  My  parents told me it was a waste of time. Most of my friends don’t get it at all  (they really aren’t gamers).  Personally, I never thought anything would happen  here either.  But the more people told me it was a waste, coupled with all the  challenges and struggles we faced, really made this a personal obsession.  Sure,  I still don’t know HTML that well (God bless FrontPage), and we’ve made some  mistakes here and there, but I think the current result isn’t too shabby.