Author Topic: Why does the Mushroom Kingdom look different in each new Mario adventure?  (Read 17217 times)

Offline pokepal148

• Inquire within for reasonable rates.
  • Score: -9967
    • View Profile
This whole discussion demonstrates how annoying it is that Nintendo is so disinterested in having some sort of consistent canon.  What other company just throws this stuff out without any real explanation and leaves their fans to guess what's what?  If I was a game designer the world building would be part of the appeal and I sure as hell would try to make sure it all made sense.
does it matter in this case?

Offline NWR_insanolord

• Rocket Fuel Malt Liquor....DAMN!
  • NWR Staff Pro
  • Score: -18986
    • View Profile
I don't want them to care about establishing a canon in the Mario universe. Zelda, sure; Metroid, also sure; Mario, why the hell would they bother? I'm with Miyamoto on this one; Mario platformers should have as little story as possible, because it's irrelevant and only serves to slow things down.
Insanolord is a terrible moderator.

J.P. Corbran
NWR Community Manager and Soccer Correspondent

Offline Sarail

• That Starlink makes me wet.
  • Score: 10
    • View Profile
    • Sarail's Safe Haven
I don't want them to care about establishing a canon in the Mario universe. Zelda, sure; Metroid, also sure; Mario, why the hell would they bother? I'm with Miyamoto on this one; Mario platformers should have as little story as possible, because it's irrelevant and only serves to slow things down.
I sort of agree and disagree.

The opening portion of Super Mario Galaxy was filled with story - it was the most engrossed I've ever been in a Mario platformer. I've always wanted to see more of that...dispersed between sections of levels to further the story of whatever Mario game it may be. It was highly enjoyable, and it really added to my immersion with Galaxy.