Author Topic: What do you think about games from Eastern Europe ?  (Read 2458 times)

Offline Viall

• Score: 0
    • View Profile
What do you think about games from Eastern Europe ?
« on: February 25, 2015, 09:58:21 AM »
Hi pals !
French student here, I'm currently writing a dissertation and would appreciate if you could take a moment to help me with it.
I'm studying videogames from Eastern Europe and how they are established on the videogame market. Meaning, how games from Ukraine, Poland, Russia and Belarus sell, why, etc.What games do you know from those countries ? (please not just The Witcher)
  • How would you define games from Eastern Europe ?
  • Have you ever played Russian games ?
  • What do those games have in common ?
  • What makes them different from other games ?
  • Do you check where a game is from ?
  • Thanks a lot pals !

Offline azeke

• He's ruining Splatfest for the rest of us
  • Score: 11
    • View Profile
Re: What do you think about games from Eastern Europe ?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2015, 11:35:17 AM »
Oh boy.

Do you want a perspective from "inside"? I live in a post Soviet country and i am russian-speaking.

First of all, all media (not just games) from CIS countries is rooted in a completely different culture and set of values. Another big difference is obviously diiferent history -- like 90s was pretty much the end of the world here, while "civilised world" was enjoying their SNES and Playstations.

The first thing to know about gaming in CIS countries: no consoles past pirated Famicom clones (see "Grey elephant curse" to know the history of Dendy), so no SNES, no N64. Genesis actually got relatively popular and Playstation 1 was common enough but majority of all gamers played on PC and that's what most games were developer for.

As to list of games from Eastern Europe... I am going to list them by genre so it's gonna be all over the place with years of release -- from early 2000s when i started gaming to this day.

RPGs: