Author Topic: 3DS SD Card Help  (Read 4872 times)

Offline Adrock

• Chill, Valentine
  • Score: 138
    • View Profile
3DS SD Card Help
« on: August 31, 2013, 04:50:24 PM »
Back story: when I did the system transfer to my 3DS XL, I didn't backup my SD card and I thought I lost everything on it. I ended up re-downloading everything and I lost my Swapnotes.

Anyway, today I Streetpassed a friend I've been Streetpassing for over two years now and I only had like five Puzzle Swap panels which was weird because when I Streetpass my brother's 3DS, it shows all the puzzle pieces I've collected from all the panels. Basically, I'm missing a ton of panels, but people can still collect puzzle pieces from all of my panels. I looked it up and apparently, that has something to do with the SD Card (not 100% on this).

I put my old SD card into my XL and it seems all of my old data is still on there. I went into Data Management in the System Settings and under Extra Data, all my data was still in there. When I put the 2GB SD Card into my MacBook Pro, my brother's data and my data were in separate folders. I suppose it got partitioned when I set up my original 3DS for my brother. I know which one is my data on the 2 GB SD Card because I put the 4 GB SD Card into my MacBook Pro and the folder name is the same as one of the folder names on the 2 GB SD Card. Hopefully, I'm explaining this well enough. Here are my questions:

1. Can I get all that old data onto my new 4 GB SD Card that came with the XL? If so, how? I looked it up and Nintendo has instructions on their website, but I wanted to ask here so I can bounce questions off you guys so I don't mess anything (else) up.

2. The old 2 GB SD Card has all the data pre-XL and the new 4 GB SD Card, naturally, has data post-XL. I don't know how to reconcile that. Won't there be duplicate data? I don't know how this stuff works. Does the new 4 GB SD Card have to be cleared out, reformatted or whatever if I want to put the old data on it?