Author Topic: Assassin's Creed to Remain Annualized Series As Long As Players Want It   (Read 1357 times)

Offline Steel Diver

• Score: 12
    • View Profile
    • Nintendo Gamer Thoughts

Assassin's Creed is here to stay, unless you want it to leave.

http://www.nintendoworldreport.com/news/33715

Yannis Mallat, the CEO of Ubisoft Montreal, talked about the future of the Assassin's Creed franchise in an interview with Eurogamer.

The frequency of use does not matter if the content is of sufficient quality, according to Mallat. He stated, "When you have quality content, the frequency of coming out with the game is not an issue at all." When it comes to the end of the series, Mallat says it is up to the growing fanbase: "The players will tell us. Right now there are more and more coming into the franchise, so I don't see that day."

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag will be released on Wii U on October 29 in North America and November 1 in Europe. 

I'm a staff writer here at good ol' Nintendo World Report, but I also have a Nintendo website at www.nintendogamerthoughts.com

Offline Ian Sane

• Champion for Urban Champion
  • Score: 1
    • View Profile
They try to say it in a nice way but really what they're saying is "we're going to run this series into the ground."  The goal is to milk it as quickly as possible until no one gives a **** anymore like what happened to Guitar Hero and Rock Band.

Is Nintendo did this back in the day, Zelda wouldn't have even made it to the N64.  There is some value in making a new release infrequent enough that each one attracts attention and as seen as a big deal, instead of some disposable iteration that will obsolete in a year.  When the players no longer want Assassin's Creed they will never want to see it ever again, but with more space between releases decades can go by before that sets in.  I guess Ubisoft wants a big hit series for right now, but it doesn't matter to them if it is still a valuable IP in 2023.

Offline azeke